Taking Control

Our Beloved DaleThis was a tough week. We had to put our dog to sleep on Thursday. He was old and very ill. He was also a sweet, sweet guy. We knew it was coming and we knew it was the right thing to do, but it didn’t make it any easier.

There were other stressful events this week too. Normally, I can shrug most difficult situations off and deal with them, but when they converge all at once, they can feel insurmountable–out of control.

And what do I do when faced with seemingly insurmountable stress? I eat. It didn’t help that this happened on a Thursday, my weigh-in day, and typically a day of more relaxed eating for me. On Thursday though, I let food take over. And that extended into Friday. I was looking for comfort, and looking for it in comfort food. The surprising thing was I didn’t get much comfort from the food. Only a stomachache.

Saturday I managed to rein in the eating machine somewhat by starting the day with a good 3-mile run. During the couple of hours after my run, I felt more positive and almost back to normal. My food day wasn’t perfect (we had lunch plans), but it didn’t include the bingeing from the two days before.

I am back in control today. I’m still sad. I’m still overwhelmed. But I am back in control.

This week, having reverted back to old ways for a few days, I realized that the most important part of my fitness journey is finally having control over the food I eat and how I take care of my health. My out-of-control days ended up feeding my distress and making me feel even worse. Taking charge again of my food and exercise has put me on the path toward being in control of other aspects of my life too.

Dale, our dog, got old and sick. We had no control over that. But we were able to say enough was enough and help him get to a better place.

For me, this fitness journey has been about being aware and in control of my health too so I can be in a better place. Sometimes, I get knocked off, but I won’t stay down for long anymore. I like having control.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by onelittlejill on September 28, 2009 at 1:14 am

    I am so sincerely sorry for your loss. I still mourn the loss of my beloved dogs. And while, as you said, you know it is the right and humane thing to do, it is never easy. I hope you find peace in this difficult time.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeannie Porter on September 28, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Sorry for your loss. A pet becomes part of our familly and when faced with the lossi is s never easy.

    I could relate to what you said about comfort eating. I do the same thing. I was impressed that you began to take control again after two days….it takes most people much longer.

    Hang in there and I hope this week is better for you! Thanks for the post.

    Reply

  3. Oh…what a sad time. Your dog looks lovely in the pic — what a loyal, loving face! I’m sure he had a happy, fun-filled life with you all. I’m sorry for your loss.

    One of the hardest lessons I have had to learn in my weight loss journey is that food isn’t going to erase my sad emotions in tough times. It’s strange how we can grasp that logically, but still…the urge to smother that sadness with food sticks around! Anyway, good job getting back on track.

    Reply

  4. Ohhh I am so sorry. This post put a lump in my throat. We had to put our sweet dog to sleep last summer and it was so so heartbreaking. Wahh!

    Yeah, surprise – food doesn’t bring the comfort we expect or want, only a stomachache. Sometimes we need to just feel sad, because it’s a really sad thing. Loss.

    Sending hugs.

    Reply

  5. Thank you everyone for all of the hugs and sympathies. It has helped in a really sad time.
    Dale was a really active dog, and being sick was so hard on him because he couldn’t run around anymore. We’re coping by picturing him romping and playing again!
    I so appreciate my blogging family!!
    Hugs back to you all. Diane

    Reply

  6. Posted by Fran on September 28, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about Dale!

    My dog isn’t feeling well since yesterday (she’s 16) and as I was talking to my hub about her I opened your blog and read this sad news. I’m afraid we’re going to have to make the same choice as you and your husband did for Dale very soon.

    Good for you that you’ve taking back control on your eating habits.

    Big hug for you!

    Reply

    • Fran, so sorry to hear about your dog too. Dale was somewhere between 12 and 13 (he was a stray and full grown when he came to us). However, he was a German Shepherd mix, and that’s old age for them. He was also sick for about 5 months, although only very bad in that last week. It was sad, but at least he’s not suffering anymore.
      I hope you don’t have to make the same decision too soon. My thoughts and hugs are with you too.

      Reply

  7. Posted by Fran on September 29, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Well it seems Roussy (name of my dog) is doing better today. We’ll see how it goes from this point forward. She’s a Westland High White Terrier which usually reach an age of 12 to 13 years. She’s in her bonus years as she’s 16.

    I know something to make you happy: check out my blog. I finally did it: my first 10K 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by Melissa on September 29, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    I’m sorry for your loss. Dale looked beautiful in his picture.

    Reply

  9. I’m sorry about your dog. Losing a beloved pet can really hit us hard!

    Reply

  10. So sorry about Dale. Puppy Head looks beautiful in this picture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

