Must Be The Weather

It is officially fall today. And for the past couple of days we’ve had perfect fall weather. Crisp mornings, warm afternoons and chilly nights. No humidity and bright, blue sunny skies. This is my favorite time of the year on Long Island.

I was walking at this time of year last year, having started my fitness quest in July, but I wasn’t running yet. That didn’t start until November, and then it was indoors, on the treadmill. Saturday, after 5 days off from doing anything, I went running. It was so gorgeous and I felt so strong, I ran a full three miles at a harder-than-usual pace for me. Could have been because it was chilly starting out? All I know is it was one of my best runs from a perspective of feeling strong and enjoying myself.

Sunday, my legs reminded me that I shouldn’t really take 5 days off and then run hard. Ouch. I went swimming on Sunday to try to loosen up, but ended up going much farther than I expected, swimming about 1100 yards. By Sunday afternoon, I was sore all over! But it was a good sore.

The nice thing is that when I got up this morning, I felt good again. No more muscle pain. And hubby was home from work today and could take our daughter to work. So I got to go running again in the spectacular weather this morning. I ran 2.5 miles this morning (because I did have to come home and get ready for work) but surprisingly, I was able to run good and hard again. I figured today would be a slower run because my legs were still a little fatigued from Saturday. I don’t know what’s giving me the extra pep in my step, but I’ll take it.

It must be the weather.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Ahh yes, I agree! This weather is beautiful. I wish I was a weather changer switch thingy to make it whatever temp I wanted. Today I’m going power walking.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Fran on September 21, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    You’re having the same weather as we’re having right now and I love it too. It’s perfect for running. I went out yesterday morning while there was a fog. At some time during my run it was just me, the fog, the landscape and the cows along the road. At that moment I thought: yes running can be great!

    Reply

  3. You just keep getting better and better! Way to go!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jeannie Porter on September 22, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I love the fall and this weather as well. Your post are so motivating!

    Reply

  5. PS. There is an award for you on my blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

