Tomorrow’s the big day! Trek Women Triathlon, NY

I still was having ambivalent moments about the Trek Women triathlon until today. Some days, I was feeling like it’s going to be great; other days, I wonder what I was thinking. Yesterday, with all of the rain, and rain predicted for tomorrow morning and a 6:30 am start, I wasn’t so sure I’d even go. But, the weather is supposed to be nice now.

So today, I went and picked up my race packet, got my body marked and wandered around a bit. I tried Sports Beans (yum, those will be available tomorrow) and Greek yogurt, which I promptly went out and picked up at the supermarket. Also yum.

I bought a race belt for my race number and Trek Women gave away an awesome T-shirt. Not sure if I’ll be wearing that one tomorrow. My brother also made me an awesome t-shirt on Zazzle and gave that to me last weekend. It says Fat Girl 2 Fit Girl and has a heart with the Japanese symbols for strength and dedication inside. His take on the whole Fat Girl To Fit Girl thing is that it takes heart, strength and dedication to train for and participate in triathlons, especially coming from the unfit state of being I was in. He’s also a triathlete. Wasn’t that sweet? For that reason alone, I would feel awful if I didn’t compete tomorrow.

So I’m ready. I got really pumped at packet pick-up! Everyone was so nice and they talked us through what the race course will be like and where we’ll need to go. I’ve done the pool swim at this venue already so I know what to expect there. I’m going to make sure I pace myself carefully and just have a really good time. And I’ll have pictures and race results as soon as I can. Probably after my diner french fries and my nap!

I want to thank all of you who read this blog and have connected with me on Twitter too! Your encouragement and support as I’ve gotten ready for this race and my first one too has really kept me going, especially on the days I don’t feel like going! You have made the whole triathlon/getting fit experience even more worthwhile! I wish I could have you all with me tomorrow morning. Instead though, I’ll have my hubby to root me on.

I’m off to make my pasta/chicken dinner to get me through my race tomorrow, finish up my laundry and relax a bit before going to bed really early tonight, since I have to be up at 4:30 am. Hopefully I’ll sleep. And the next time I post, I’ll be done! But just for the season. I’m already planning out the triathlons I want to be in come spring!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeannie on September 13, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Here’s cheering you on from Kentucky! Good luck, I have full confidence that you will complete the task at hand!! I will look forward to the post and photos.

    Reply

  2. Hugs, cheers, and blessings from Orlando!!! I know you are out there kicking butt as I sit here and type this (probably finishing up by now), and make no mistake: WE ARE ALL WITH YOU. I am soooo proud of you!! The race packet pick-up def does something for one’s morale, I think. Looking forward to your post and photos, after you recover. 🙂 Let’s hear it for hubbies who ‘run’ with us!

    Robin

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on September 13, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I’m so curious how it went today but I’m sure you did great!

    You did wear the shirt your brother gave you I hope! It’s so sweet of him and totally says everything about who you are.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Melissa on September 13, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I’m so happy for you. I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Reply

  5. This is sooo awesome! Great post, I was there with you while reading it. Even though I never want to do a trialathon, you inspire me. After all that, your 5K was faster than mine, LOL!

    Way to go!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

