Running Rain Delay

rainI planned to go running this morning. I really did. I got up at 5:50. It was still dark out, so I laid in bed contemplating. I really didn’t want to get up. And I’m really not so sure about running in the dark. By 6:15, the sky had brightened enough, so I dragged myself out of bed and got dressed. And then I remembered that I could play with Runkeeper and my new iPhone. That could be fun.

Still dragging, I went downstairs and since my son wasn’t home yet, I had to let the dog out. I had been planning a long run— more than 3 miles— but now it was getting late. It would have to be a regular run. And then I went outside with the dog.

It was raining. Not hard. A light drizzle. But who ever knows what that will lead to? The last time I went out in a light drizzle, halfway through, it turned into a hard, soaking rain. My hubby, who knows my run course, came out to rescue me but by the time he found me, I was already drenched.

Since I was already dressed, I considered still going…without the iPhone of course. But I really don’t like running in the rain. I’m not that hardcore.  I know I should run in the rain, because what if on race day it rains? I’ll have to do it then.

But this morning, since I was waffling anyway, running in the rain was not going to happen. I opted for cozy under the covers for another half hour instead. Hey, does it count that I got out of bed and got dressed? Do I get activity points for good intentions?

Tomorrow, we’re due for a tropical storm. Maybe I’ll be running on the treadmill in the gym after I swim. I only have two weeks of training time left. I shouldn’t be letting a little rain stop me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on August 28, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    I don’t mind running in the rain. I hate running in hot wheater and try to avoid that. When I went for my run this morning it was raining a little bit but it didn’t bother me. I don’t go when it’s raining really hard though.

    In Holland we have a website called “buienradar” on which you can see if there’s rain expected in the coming 2 hours. I always look at this site before I go because it’s most of the time correct concerning the expected rain.

    Reply

  2. Posted by onelittlejill on August 29, 2009 at 12:16 am

    I totally bagged my run today too because of the rain.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jeannie on August 29, 2009 at 12:24 am

    I don’t mind a drizzle…but I am definitely not hard core enough to walk or run in a down pour!

    Reply

  4. I heard thunder, rolled over, decided to get up anyway – not one drop. I even wished for it with the humidity, but I’ve never regretted a run, only the ones I didn’t take.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

