Triathlon Inspiration

womentriathlonI’m doing the TrekWomen Triathlon on Long Island on Sept. 13. And I have to admit, I’m a little nervous about this race. While it’s in the same park as my August race, this one is longer than that one by quite a bit, and I struggled in the first one. I finished, but it was tough! I was tougher.

At these first races, I’m not looking to break records or do amazing things. I’m just looking to finish and that’s how I’m training. I can do all of the parts by themselves. I just need to put them all together and not fall apart on the course in the process.I’ve been slacking a little on brick training (putting the disciplines together).

But I’m still nervous. What if the extra 3 miles on the bike and the extra mile on the run do me in this time? Well, I decided today that that’s not going to happen. I’m tougher than the race course. I’ve done this in training, I’ve done it in a race and I can do it again. No fear. Ok, a little fear, but not enough to stop me. I’m getting healthier and stronger every day, and I can do this. Even if it’s humid. Man, I hope it’s not humid that day.

So what gave me this resolve today? I mean, this morning, when I went out to run, I changed my mind and walked instead. 80 degrees with 94% humidity at 6:30am had a hand in that decision. But tomorrow is a swim/bike day. And Sunday, hopefully, will be a bike/run day, even if it’s in the comfort of the temperature-controlled gym.

What inspired me today was reading a post from the Secrets of a Former Fat Girl blog about her experience with a TrekWomen triathlon back in July. You can read the post by clicking on the link. She’s a triathlon newbie too. And her race report was nothing less than inspiring. Her triathlon wasn’t easy for her either. I don’t think these things are actually easy for anyone. But she powered through. And she finished. And she went on to do a half marathon after that. I think sometimes we are all just gluttons for punishment! But I can tell you there’s nothing like the feeling of accomplishment you get when you finish an endurance race, even a small one.

Not only did Michelle’s story help me renew my resolve, her experience with TrekWomen made it even stronger! Hers was a huge race with over 2,500 women. My last race had less than 300 athletes. I’m curious to see how large the NY Trek Women’s race is and how they do this. Michelle also talked about all of the support she received from volunteers, fellow racers and Sally Edwards herself. Amazing. I can’t wait to be a part of this. These races are worth it for the camaraderie alone. And I’m ready to get seriously training again.

For more information on Trek Women triathlons, click here.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by onelittlejill on August 21, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    You CAN and WILL do it. Just remember: Finishing IS Winning!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeannie on August 22, 2009 at 3:32 am

    You go girl! Here’s three cheers for you!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on August 22, 2009 at 6:15 am

    I love the Trek Women concept, I’ve been exploring their site. I’ve been looking if we got something like this but we haven’t.

    I’m sure you’re going to make it, you’ve worked hard for it!

    Reply

  4. Relax….. smile….. open your eyes and run…… the experiencie/feelings you will accomplish at the end are the most beautiful you will necer have. Good luck.!!! (don´t forget of eating and drinking).
    Nico

    Reply

  5. It’s only natural to be afraid of the event, but you’ve been training hard and I have no doubt that you will finish! You can do this!

    Reply

  6. You can do it! You are very inspiring and I am so excited for you 🙂

    Reply

  7. Thank you so much Diane for the recognition! I’ve got goosebumps just thinking about my triathlon – it still is by far one of the most amazing things I’ve done! I wish I could be there for your tri – I know you’ll do GREAT!

    Reply

    • Michelle, Thanks so much! When I read your post, I knew I would be ok. I had a tough time in my first tri and this one is longer. It sounds like such a warm, caring group, I’m looking forward to it now. Although I can’t imagine they could ever get 2500 competitors in the park where this race is being held. It’s a large park, but wow. It will be interesting. Thanks again!

      Reply

  8. Diane, you’ve been training so hard for this. I know you’ll do it and have a great time. And thanks for the link to Secrets Of A Former Girl’s post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

