Humidity, Kittens and Random Thoughts

kitten2

It’s been particularly humid on Long Island this week. And hot. We have had an unusually temperate summer here so this this drippy heat isn’t making anyone very happy. I can’t even talk to my husband most days (he works outside).

I kind of like the heat, but I am in no way a fan of the humidity. It makes everything just a little more difficult. It’s even humid in my office. Ick.

  • Last night I went to a benefit for an animal rescue organization at this adorable little tiki bar. The bar and the benefit were outside. I had on a sundress and a short sleeve sweater. It was so humid though, I had to take the sweater off. But for the first time in a very, very long time, I didn’t feel self-conscious. Don’t get me wrong, I still have bat wings for upper arms, but there’s also some definition there and this summer, I even have a tan (thanks to running in tank tops every weekend!) Oh and I may have adopted a tiny orange furball of a kitten named Gizmo. I’ll be his new mommy if no one else adopts him in the next two weeks. He was only 6 weeks old.
  • I did not win the food battle yesterday. I got home from work and there was pizza. In the food mood I was in, even though I kept it in check all day, there was no resisting pizza! I scarfed two pieces before I even had a chance to think about it. At least I only caved for one meal, instead of the whole day. There was a fudgesicle too! However, I didn’t eat or drink anything at the benefit last night, so the pizza may have saved me from a more calorie-laden fate. There was a pretty good food spread at the benefit. Yes, I checked it out!
  • This morning I knew I needed to work out…after a day off from exercise and you know, the eating thing. I just didn’t want to deal with the humidity this morning though. So I went to the gym. I need to do bricks anyway (biking, running) if I’m ever going to be ready for the Trek Women Tri on Sept. 13. I don’t know if the stationary bike/treadmill counts as a “true” brick  but that’s what I did this morning. 8 miles on the bike – 22 minutes (I think it must have started at 2 miles because that’s awfully fast for me (I’m as slow a rider as I am a runner). Then I went over to the treadmill and ran for 18 minutes (1.6 miles). I kept the incline at 1 because I’d read that that mirrors the resistance of a road run. It wasn’t a long run, but I felt strong off the bike, which is rare. Ran the whole way, except for a 20-second walk just to check my heart rate at the mile mark. I played with the speed too, although I still kept in my comfort zone. I’ll be pushing that in the next couple of weeks. And I forgot my iPod this morning so all this exercise was without music. That wasn’t much fun but since they don’t let you use an iPod when you race, I guess it was good training.
    It felt good though and I was sorry I got out of bed so late this morning because I felt like I could have done more but I ran out of time if I was ever going to make it to work today.
  • I was checking my heart rate this morning (another reason for the gym workout today) on the advice of the cardiologist yesterday. I had an appointment yesterday because of a slow heart rate. It was  44 bpm on the EKG. A normal resting heart rate for a woman my age is above 60. He wasn’t too concerned, he said, as long as my heart rate isn’t 44 when I’m running. It’s not. This morning I got it kicked all the way up to 150…endurance training, baby!
    Anyway, chances are it is just a “slow athletic heart” as my regular doctor said, but they are also checking for thyroid. A slow thyroid could also explain why my weight loss has slowed to a turtle pace, but that could also just be because I am eating more than I think I am. At any rate, I’m at very low risk for any kind of heart attack, so that was good news, being that I come from a family at high risk.
  • I’m planning a long run tomorrow (long for me is 3.2 miles) and I’m hoping against hope that the humidity breaks today. At least I found my sunglasses when I was fishing for my gym card this morning. They’d gone missing (in the bottom of my gym bag last week) and running this week without them has been annoying. My cheapy sunglasses that I run in are lightweight and don’t sit too close to my face but also don’t fall off my nose. It’s amazing how attached we get to the “things” we get used to for this whole running/workout thing! So glad I found them.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Hope you get the kitty! How exciting!

    I can’t even imagine the heat… I’m sitting next to a heater here!

    Reply

  2. Hey Diane,
    You looked fabulous last night and we both have challenges when it comes to food, but you have inspired me to do better so I am on the flat belly diet and doing good so far. Thanks!
    Gizmo was sooooo sweet and he really compliments you – red goes well with blue eyed blondes – it is blue eyes right?
    I hope this sweet kitty does make it to your home because Gizmo got your heart last night!
    Keep up the fabulous work!
    elizabeth

    Reply

  3. I hope you get that kitty. How exciting.

    Keep up your great work!

    Reply

  4. Posted by onelittlejill on August 21, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    NJ heat is a beast lately!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

