I Love Running… I Hate Running… I Love Running…

woman-runningRecently, I came across a greeting card that on the front said: I love running, I hate running, I love running, I hate running. I loved that and if I could find it again, I would totally link you to it! I loved it, because as a newbie runner, it’s exactly the way I feel, when I’m running, when I’m about to start running, when I finish. It is totally a love/hate relationship, although lately, the pros definitely outweigh the cons.

While I was running my 3.2 miles this morning (my version of a long run), I thought about this the whole way. What is it that I love about running? And what is it that I hate? It was more an exercise in keeping my mind occupied and made my run today go quickly.

The highlights?

I love running on a morning like today. It was crisp and cool and sunny. There’s nothing like being outside on a morning like this.

I hate running in the humidity. Slogging through pea soup is not my idea of fun. There’s nothing like sitting in front of an air conditioner on those days, but I usually run anyway.

I love running downhill. I feel fast and it’s easy.

I hate running uphill, but I’m psyched that I can do it now. Just a few short months ago, I would have to walk up the hills. And there’s usually a downhill on the other side.

I love starting my day moving and listening to music.

I hate getting out of bed to go move and listen to music.

I love taking off after the warmup walk part of my run.

I hate the way my knees sometimes feel when I go from walking to running. But then they settle in and its all good.

I love the parts of the run where it feels effortless and the road just goes by (I don’t have a lot of this yet, but it does happen.)

I hate when my legs feel like lead and every inch of the road feels like a mile (I have more of this but it’s getting less.)

I love when my shadow is in front of me and I can see myself run. My legs look 9 feet long and I feel speedy.

I hate the idea that other people can see me run. In reality, I’m pretty slow. I wonder what they are thinking sometimes.

I love my sneakers.

I hate how hot my feet get.

I love sweating.

I hate sweating.

I love turning into my driveway at the end of my run.

I hate the mid-point of a run. Turning back now would take just as long as going forward, so I always choose forward.

I love answering the question “How far did you run today?” It assumes I’m a runner.

I hate when I have to walk during a run. Then I don’t feel like a runner.

I love endorphins and the way my day goes after a run in the morning. It pumps me up more than any other exercise I do.

I love that I CAN run.

I hate that I didn’t start sooner.

Running has changed me. More than any other exercise I do, I get a sense of accomplishment when I complete a run, even a short one. I never thought I would be a runner. I never actually had any desire to be a runner, even when I started. But it has grown on me. I constantly challenge myself through running and the rewards have been worth every effort. I feel great and have more energy, my skin looks great, I handle stress better, I love the way my jeans fit, I have more confidence and I’m just all around happier.

If you are considering running, go for it. Start slow with an interval program and don’t beat yourself up when progress is slow. There will be days when you hate running, but there will be times you love it. It’s the “love” moments that get you out on the road time after time.

And the four words that push me out the door: “I can always walk.”

17 responses to this post.

  1. “I love that I CAN run.”

    Yeah, that!

    Whenever the going gets tough for me on a run, I always try to think about the people out there who can’t run… especially those who have a physical disability. I thank God all the time that I have the physical ability to run, and I try to remember that when my lungs and legs are screaming for me to just quit already!

    Reply

  2. You are such an inspiration to me! Thanks for this post! I can’t wait to start running too!

    Reply

  3. I love your love/hate list … I can relate to a lot of those points.

    p.s. I periodically walk during my long runs (I do not have the skill to eat or drink and run) and I’m most certainly a runner (and the folks at the Boston marathon agree)!

    Reply

  4. I love this post! It describes exactly how I feel about running. I love the same things and again hate the same things as you.

    I can’t think of anything more to say about this post because you’ve said it all!

    Thx!

    Reply

  5. I feel EXACTLY the same way. I also love and hate running!!!!!

    Reply

  6. Greetings from Orlando!

    I stumbled upon your blog today, while wandering around in Technorati. It’s nice to see familiar feelings on a similar journey… it seems we have much in common w/ regard to the love/hate thing and the mid-life decision to make a healthy change. A type 2 diabetes diagnosis at 39 helped change my mind a few yrs ago, and though I consider myself a runner, it’s always a conversation in my head…!

    My blog is still an “infant,” runningcirclesaroundtheturtles.com, and like you, I’m hoping to inspire and encourage others who are thinking about running. As long as we’re moving, it’s a very good thing!

    Looking forward to catching up on your older posts, following your current ones, and nosing around in your links, faves, blogroll, etc…

    Great blog… thanks for sharing! :o)

    robin

    Reply

  7. Hi there,
    I noticed your tweet about having a love/hate relationship with running and thought, “I must check that out!” Your comments are spot on: from that off-kilter feeling we have in the first mile or so, to the not-so-lovely sweat factor. But we keep going, don’t we?

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Very best wishes!

    Reply

  8. Posted by onelittlejill on August 14, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Love this post! I might even need to do one of my own love/hate posts too!!!

    Reply

  9. I always dream of running – it’s one of my major goals along with weight loss.

    I just signed up for my 2nd 5K. I signed up as a walker again, but I plan on trying to run some of it (as much as I can).

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

  10. Posted by miap3 on August 14, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Wow you basically took the words right out of my brain!

    Reply

  11. Great post! As you know, I’m a beginner runner too, doing C25K. I can’t believe I actually LIKE running. I guess it’s the challenge for me; being able to do something I NEVER desired to do, even as a kid (I hated P.E.). But now that I’m 65 lbs lighter, I enjoy being active & trying new things (hubby is teaching me golf). As long as we make healthy choices & do the best for our bodies, we’re winners!

    See ya on Twitter!

    Reply

  12. Posted by laureldandelions on August 15, 2009 at 2:40 am

    Great list! Running is so awesome/awful.

    Reply

  13. Posted by theomnivert on August 15, 2009 at 3:27 am

    I feel the exact same way about running! I just started 2 months ago but yesterday I ran 2.5 miles straight and that was an amazing accomplishment for me. Running makes me feel like an athlete–something I’ve never felt like before. Thanks for the post!

    Reply

  14. I love this post! You caught my eye w/ the headline and then starting it out w/ a greeting card quote sucked me in. Our business is greeting cards and we have a new line of running cards and a recent post about things I have learned and love about running. Seems we are on the same wavelength! Keep up the good work and fun writing. PS. if you are looking for some good music to start your “day moving”, check out: http://www.remanents.com/blog/best-running-music-ever/

    Reply

  15. LOVE this post!!! Me too, me too! I have a love/hate relationship too! I am still on intervals, so I can’t quite call myself a fully fledged runner yet (even though I have been known to utter the phrase “I’m going for a run”) but I hope to be a runner very, very soon! My fave quote when I think about one of the main reasons I love running is “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy [Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands. They just don’t”] – Elle Woods

    Reply

  16. Posted by Kyra (@KyraTX) on August 15, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I don’t run (yet) but I feel many of the same love/hate feelings when dragging myself out of bed to take the dogs on their long morning walks. Especially when the sun isn’t up! Keep going, the endorphins will catch up to you!

    Reply

  17. Thanks for all the comments on this post! It was so much fun to write and I’m glad I’m not alone in what I love and hate about running. Good thing I didn’t write it today. It would have just been about what I “hate” about running…it was a run through pea soup humidity this morning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

