The 3 Musketeers Bar Challenge

3MsktrsMainYesterday, around 4:00 pm, I was headed out to my niece’s birthday part and had to stop at Walgreen’s for a card and a couple of waters for hubby and me for the ride. For whatever reason, I strolled down the candy aisle aimlessly, not really knowing what I was looking for. But when I chanced upon the 3 Musketeers bars, I knew exactly why I ended up in that aisle.

There’s something about 3 Musketeers bars for me. They are such chocolately goodness, but lower in fat? Somehow, if I’m going to eat a candy bar, that is always the one I gravitate toward. I snatched up the candy bar, went to the register and paid (before I had a chance to rethink my decision) and hopped in the car. Where I rethought my decision.

Between the Walgreen’s register and the car, I had rationalized that if I ate that candy bar on the way to the party, I wouldn’t want cake (and the 3 Musketeers bar would be less points–it’s five. I know this. This was not my first 3 Musketeers bar). I’d eat less chips. Somehow, eating this candy bar would keep me from eating anything diabolical at a 12-year-old’s birthday. Yeah, right.

In the car, before I ripped the wrapper off that yummy candy, I decided to search for a pen, fill out the card and be ready when we arrived (even though we had a half hour ride.) I put the 3 Musketeers bar in my pocketbook and opened my water and took a swig. Now, even though the candy was calling my name–quite loudly, in fact… DH kept asking what was that noise coming from my bag–I suddenly had the urge to resist. I think they call this mindful eating?

So I didn’t eat the 3 Musketeers bar. It haunted me throughout the whole party, where I also didn’t eat chips and diabolical foods and only had a tiny two-bite sliver of cake. Not sure what was up with that either since I can almost never resist cake.

On the ride home, having eaten nothing at the party, I was hungry. DH wanted pizza so we stopped for that. I had a slice of pizza and then I was off to the movies with a friend to see Julie & Julia. I still had the 3 Musketeers bar in my bag and rationalized now that if I wanted movie treats (having been so well-behaved at the party), I had my candy already.

Instead, I just drank water. And thoroughly enjoyed the movie. On the way home, I considered the 3 Musketeers bar again but now it was late and I didn’t want to eat chocolate at midnight. Besides, having resisted it all afternoon, I was curious to see if I could continue.

It’s now 8:45 pm on Sunday and that 3 Musketeers bar is still in my pocketbook. I haven’t eaten it yet. And I’ve eaten very healthfully all day. And I won’t tonight now either. I’m debating whether I should keep it in my pocketbook to see how long I can resist it….

Or maybe I’ll just give it to my son and be done with it.

I’m curious though. Anyone know why it’s called a 3 Musketeers bar? I mean, technically, it’s only really two versions of the same flavor.

UPDATE: On my way up to bed last night, I stopped at my son’s room, knocked on his door and handed him the 3 Musketeer bar. “What’s this for?” he asked. “I don’t want it,” I replied. “Oh.”

I figured I shouldn’t continue to tempt fate. It’s good to have a 21-year-old in the house who isn’t watching his weight.

8 responses to this post.

  1. What an amazing show of strength and willpower. We can justify just about anything, but in the end it all boils down to excuses. You rose above that! Well done!

    Reply

  2. Oh my: I would have lost the fight with the candy bar immediately when I got back in the car!

    I admire you for making your day such a good one concerning the food you ate!
    It seems like a really nice day though!

    Have a nice Monday!

    Reply

  3. Posted by onelittlejill on August 10, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    GREAT job- but I also think you should go find a 3-muskateer mini bar and enjoy! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by ernise on August 10, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    hooray! you put your willpower to good use and made good decisions!

    Reply

  5. […] Excerp­t­ from­­: The 3 M­us­keteers­ Bar C­hal­l­en­ge « F­at Gi­rl&#17… […]

    Reply

  6. Y’know, once I’ve gone through the exhilaration of buying something totally forbidden, it’s comforting to know it’s just there, whenever I want it. The next step is to realize that all junk food is there whenever I want it, and I don’t need to go crazy whenever I see it. It’ll be there another time, so no need to go after it like it’s water in a desert.

    Reply

  7. The candy bar always wins with me too!

    Reply

  8. Posted by allyson on August 28, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    i know why its called Three Musketeer. Both Milky Way and Three Musketeer were developed at the same time and scheduled to be released at the same time…only the names were supposed to be reversed. Makes more sense since Milk Way has chocolate, nuts and caramel (3 musketeers). However there was a glitch at at the manufacturers and the wrong wrapper were but on the wrong bars. Due to a time crunch they sent them out as it…and changed the names forever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

