When I’m 65 …or Thereabouts

In my race on Saturday, one of the things that impressed me the most while I was hobbling through the run, was the  65-year-old woman who passed me. She wasn’t flying but she was moving faster than me. I knew she was 65 because they put our ages on the backs of our leg. And there is no faking it either because you have to produce your license when you register. As I watched her go by, I thought to myself as I picked up my pace, “I am so impressed. I want to still be doing triathlons when I’m 65, and I want to be running the whole way.”

Then I signed up for my next triathlon, The Trek Women Tri, which I’m very excited about because it’s all women. It’s also in September, so I hope it will be a little cooler. It’s a quarter-mile pool swim, 9-mile bike, 3-mile run distances.

The spokesperson for this is Sally Edwards, “a world-class and professional athlete, best-selling author, and inspirational speaker. Sally is the CEO of Heart Zones, USA, a training, education, health club programming, and coaching company. She is the National Spokeswoman for the Trek Women Triathlon Series™ volunteering to finish last in each of the 8 races in 2009 so that no other woman has to,” according to her bio. She participates in all of the triathlons. She’s 61. (courtesy: SallyEdwards.com/TrekWomenTriathlonSeries.com

If you’re interestsed in the Trek Women Triathlon Series, you can check out their events here.

And then, researching women triathletes just a little more, I found Sister Madonna:

“Dorothy Marie Buder, who became known as the Nun on the Run, was 46 years old and a member of the Sisters of the Good Shepherd when a priest at an Oregon retreat urged her to start running as a form of prayer. In the next 30 years, her prayers included over 50 marathons, 300 triathlons, and a mountain of gold medals.  At Kona in 2006, Sister Madonna won her 12th Ironman Hawaii age group title and, with 57 seconds to spare, pulled off an earthly miracle by finishing Ironman Hawaii at the age of 76.” (courtesy: JeffCuddeback.com)

It’s never too late to start, right? I’m guessing, after reading about these amazing women, there’s never a time to stop either.



4 responses to this post.

  1. This is such an encouraging post! A blogging friend of mine (who’s recently completed an thirteen and a half hour Iron Man) has a mother in her early sixties who routinely beats her in marathons!

    Reply

  2. Me too, I want to still be fit when I get older. I do not want to become one of those frail weak old women. And part of why I want to lose the weight now and get fit is because I know the longer I wait, the harder it will be.

    Reply

  3. I love this post! Even though I’m “only” 41 and started running seriously when I was 40 (6 months ago 🙂 ) I’ve planned goals for the next 2 years. Setting goals makes that I keep on running because I want to get to that finish line.

    I admire these women you wrote about: being so active at that age! I want that too!

    Reply

  4. Posted by onelittlejill on August 8, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    A woman on my team, who does two TRI’s every year, is 78. She is amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

