When The Going Gets Tough…

I’m having a bad day. I woke up with a headache and I’m cranky. I was up .8 at weight watchers this morning for no apparent reason. Down yesterday on the scale, up today. Ah, the joys of being a girl. I miscalculated bill payments and I’m broke until payday tomorrow. I have a doctor’s appointment directly after work and then an appointment with my accountant directly after that. Did I mention I’m being audited by the IRS? Just one more thing to worry about. Ugh.

I am generally a positive, happy person. I take things in stride. I handle stress well. I am grateful for good things that happen to me or come my way. I’m generous where I can be and I’m a nice person. Really.

This, though, has been a tough year with one challenge after another after another. It seems we get one thing cleared up, and oh, here comes the next thing. I’m feeling a little picked on by the powers that be. What is it I’m supposed to be learning from all this stupid stuff? So, I’ve been feeling sorry for myself all day.

But, as with so many things we worry about day to day, most of the crummy stuff that has happened or is happening ends up turning out ok. It’s not perfect, but it’s not anything we can’t handle either. Seriously what’s the worst that can happen in this audit? I’ll owe Uncle Sam more money because I’m a lousy record-keeper? They’ll just have to wait in line like everyone else, cause I just don’t have it.

I’m spending my last few minutes of the workday trying to focus on the more positive side of my life and be grateful for all that I have been given and have accomplished in these past months. I have my health. I have my family. I have a job. I have a roof over my head.I have audit protection with my accounting firm, so while this IRS tax audit is going to be a royal pain in the butt, I don’t have to sit across the desk from a scary auditor looking at me like a criminal. My accountant gets to do that. And she’s better at it.

And so what I gained .8 at Weight Watchers today. I know this weight gain is temporary. As is all the crummy stuff that I have to go through. When it’s done, I won’t be going through it anymore.

And it’s Thursday… weigh-in day. So after all of the icky stuff I have to do tonight, I get to have pizza. I’m grateful for that.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Morning!

    How’s life today? Feeling better? There are those days where nothing seems to work like you were having yesterday. But the next morning things usually look better!

    So don’t let things like IRS audit get in your way, as you’ve said: your accountant is on top of it.

    Have a nice Friday!

    Reply

  2. I hope today is a better day. Tax audits sound very scary, but I’m sure your accountant will handle it well.

    Good luck though!

    Reply

  3. Update: Today is a better day. It’s Friday. That, in and of itself, makes it better.
    And my appointment with the accountant went well last night. After she explained what I need to do, it doesn’t seem so bad. There is still a lot of work involved, but she’ll handle the tough stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

