I Am Officially A Triathlete!

I finished! I swam 400 meters, biked 6 miles and ran 2 miles this morning. My first triathlon. I finished!

The swim was great. It was a pool swim where we had to snake up and down 8 lanes in a 50-meter pool. I seeded myself at 10:30 for this based on what I was doing in training and finished the swim in 10:57. I didn’t have anyone passing me and I even passed a couple of people at the lane ends so I felt strong in this leg.  With the confusion at the ends of the lanes and getting into and out of the water, I was happy with my time.

My bike was strong and I managed to shave a minute off my last time, even with all of the bike issues I was having  getting ready for this race. Finished the bike in 23 minutes and change. Splits aren’t up yet, but I got to see them quickly after the race.

The run? The run was not so great. It was hot by the time we were running, I had a stitch in my side from all the water I inhaled in the pool (there was quite a chop with all those people in the water) and I just felt like I had nothing left. I did a lot of walking during the two miles, something I haven’t done in months, even on the hot days. The run took 26 minutes and change, the worst run I’ve had in a long time.

I was disappointed in myself with the run only because I totally let my head get in the way and keep me from doing something I know I can do. I could come up with a dozen excuses as to what happened here, but the bottom line was I let the negative talk in and didn’t push through.

But you know what? It’s over. I’ve done it! I swam, biked and ran, made it through transitions and I’m alive to write about it. And do it again. And I’m really proud of myself.

I learned so much, and while I may have been disappointed in my run, overall I am thrilled. It’s exciting/nerve-racking, I met incredible people, and even if my run wasn’t so hot, I swam a quarter mile, dried off and got on a bike for six miles and then got off the bike and ran for two. I don’t know a whole lot of people who can say they’ve done that so I know it’s an accomplishment.

I’m signing up for Trek Women in September. Same park, same time, different race. And this next time, there will be no walking during the run! I’m just that determined.

I’ll post official splits and pics soon. 🙂

Big thanks to the folks at Event Power LI who produce this event. They do an amazing job, are unbelievably supportive and they make sure everyone has a great time!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Amazing! Congratulations! You inspire me!

    Reply

  2. Posted by onelittlejill on August 2, 2009 at 12:32 am

    AWESOME!!!

    Your times are great- you should be really proud of yourself 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on August 2, 2009 at 6:44 am

    Congratulations! You did it! You must be so proud of yourself!

    And yes: many people don’t do what you did yesterday!

    Enjoy your great feeling about this!

    xxx

    Reply

  4. You are also a rock star! Well done! I am so proud of you! You did great!

    Reply

  5. No reason to be disappointed! That’s amazing! Welcome to the club! The run is always going to be tough, especially if you’re not a strong runner, because it’s last and your body is tired. I think you did awesome! Congratulations on becoming an official triathlete! We’re glad to have you!

    Reply

  6. Thank you so much for all of the supportive comments! You guys made me feel so good! I am so excited to be able to say I’m a triathlete. People look at you like your nuts and that’s really kind of fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

