Pre-Triathlon Planning

Tomorrow is race day. And I’m kicking myself that I did not take the day off from work today to relax and get ready. I’m nervous just as I was before my last race, but this time I at least have some idea of what to expect…except for the pool stuff. Laundry is done. Tonight I’ll pack my bag with a towel to dry off with and a towel to mark where my bike goes (last time I re-racked in the wrong spot). I’ll have my sneakers all set up with socks inside and my number pinned to my shirt. I’m sure I’ll still feel like I’m forgetting something important.

Tonight, after work, I’ll go register and get my body marked. This will take three hours since the race site is an hour away. Dinner when I get home will be much better than last time. Last time, I ate healthy but I ate too much and felt crummy the morning of the race. I have a much better dinner planned for tonight, but again, I feel like I’ll be eating a little late.

Lots and lots of water today. It promises to be warm and muggy tomorrow morning, not the race conditions I was hoping for but oh well. My biggest concern with the heat is that I will be doing the whole race with my swimsuit on. There’s nowhere to change. I suppose I can ride the bike in just my suit and shorts and then throw on my race jersey for the run (got a new cool under armour heat-tek shirt for tomorrow’s race).

They keep the water temperature pretty cool at the aquatic center. This will probably be a really good thing for the start of the bike ride. I at least won’t be overheated coming out of the pool like I often am when training. At my gym, the pool is a balmy 95 degrees or warmer–bath water.

Another thing I’m not sure about? Run with a hat or no hat? If it’s hot, the hat keeps the sweat out of my eyes but I really hate wearing a hat when I run. It’s not comfortable to me.

They give us sample gels when we register. I think I may use one tomorrow between the bike and the run to refuel. It’s a short race, but in training, on these really humid days, it still takes a lot out of you.

Transitions tomorrow have me a little freaked. The first race, because it became a duathlon, the transitions were simple. This time, the first one will be a bit of a challenge. I ride in my sneakers, so the second transition should be ok, other than jello legs off the bike.

I hope to finish tomorrow in under an hour. But, with the heat and in reality, I’ll be happy just to finish.

And then the rest of tomorrow will be a nice relaxing day. Ok, I feel better now having jotted down my concerns. I plan to do my best tomorrow and just have fun.

And then it will be on to the next one. I’m looking forward to the day where a race doesn’t cause me a week of anxiety!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so excited for you! I’m sure you’ll do great!

    Good luck!

    Reply

  2. I hope you have a wonderful race. Congrats on your weight loss to date!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on August 1, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Good luck , good luck, good luck! (One for every discipline you’re doing today)

    You’re going to do great! I will be thinking of you! And mostly: have fun during the race!

    xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

