The Tricky Thing About Weight Watchers Points

I am happy to report I was down 1.6 pounds at my Weight Watchers weigh-in this morning. I’m back on a losing track, which feels much better than the plateau that I was stuck on for three months. I’ve got about 19 pounds to go to get to goal. I can’t even remember the last time I only had 19 pounds to lose. And from my very heaviest weight, about 15 years ago, I’m down 98 pounds. I had lost and gained many times over the years, and had managed to keep about 30 pounds off from that highest number.

This time though will be the last time I lose weight because I’m not gaining it back. I’m down 61 pounds and feel better than I’ve felt in decades.

Anyway, about points. Today’s loss puts me in the  next bracket points-wise. I now get 20 points a day. I exercise a lot so I can always supplement and there’s always the 35 weekly points, but for me, there has been a psychological block about going over my daily allotted points.

A few weeks ago, I decided to pay more attention to what my body wanted to eat rather than staying in my points range. This is hard for me. I’m working on it, but I always want to cut myself off when I’m tracking and the screen tells me I’ve used all my points. I’ve resisted that. And at WW this morning, when I mentioned to the leader that I now lose a point, she told me not to do that. Stay with what I’m doing because it’s working.

So what is it that I’m doing? I actually allow myself a few more points. Not a gazillion or anything like that and not every day. But if  I have a hard workout or I’m just hungry, I eat. And I eat until I’m satisfied. I’ve been concentrating on making healthier choices too. Cocoa-roasted almonds rather than WW candy for instance for a sweet treat. Yogurt and strawberries rather than ice cream. Tomato slices or string beans with sea salt rather than pretzels.

Don’t get me wrong. I still leave room for treats like ice cream or cookies once or twice a day. I’m  trying to limit this a bit more and make sure my food counts. Its tough getting out of the mindset of points, points, points. But I had definitely gotten myself into a point rut, which really slowed things down. And I wasn’t eating enough food to sustain the exercising I was doing.

Weight Watchers is a great program and I owe a lot to the accountability and tools I have gained from it to make better food choices, the inspiration to get off my butt and move, the motivation I get from the leader, meetings and online stuff.

At some point though, we do have to trust ourselves if this is going to be a lifelong commitment. And while it may have seemed counter-intuitive to eat more to lose weight, for me, that seems to be working as long as I make good food choices most of the time. It took me a couple of months to get to this point because I was so worried about going over points. But I have more food freedom now, and by making sure I eat healthy rather than staying in points, the weight has started to come off again. I still track my food every day, but I pay more attention to the buttons that focus on getting the daily requirements.

On a race-training note, I rode 7 miles this morning—last workout before the big race on Saturday. I get to rest tomorrow. That will be nice. Keep your fingers crossed for me for less humidity.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I think you’re doing GREAT, and making fantastic choices. How wonderful to trust your own intuition AND have it work. Bravo bravo!

    Reply

  2. I def think that was a wise choice because when you workout you burn more and need more. I alway took those 35 extra points during the week for my treats and stuff but I think you are using them in a smarter way. I always thought if I went down to a too low of a point number I was going to try core because I can eat till I was happy. Right now I am not doing the WW but just being aware of what i eat. I am still having a problem with dinners though. Goodluck on your race tomorrow and I will cross my fingers for you.

    Reply

  3. I’ve never done WW, but I always like the concept of the old Core program. Eating real food in moderation.

    I think the reason this is working for you is that, when you go over your point, you’re eating healthy food. If you did that eating processed food you’d probably not continue losing.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Fran on July 30, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    I think you’re doing great in your own way and maybe you use more points on a day but they are mostly healthy choices so it shouldn’t matter that much.

    I count WW points also (started at 20) but I fill in what I’ve eaten at night and use it to see how much points I’ve eaten and when it’s over 20 how that was caused. So it’s a guide line for me, I don’t get stressed when I’ve used 25 points in a day or something like that.

    Congrats on your weight loss, must feel great!

    xxx

    Reply

  5. I’ve been losing weight consistently for the last 4 and a half months, and I am also a WW member. But you’re right…it’s smart to make choices that work for your body.
    I workout more than anyone else in my group so while I find it difficult to eat any of my flex points, I know I must to continue losing at this nice rate.
    Congrats to you for losing another point. 🙂 It’s bitter sweet, isn’t it? 🙂

    Reply

  6. WHoo! Way to go on the weight loss. Keep up the great work! You are doing such a great job

    Reply

  7. I like WW because of the structure, but I haven’t been counting points so much over the last 6 months or so. Maybe that’s one of the reason my weight loss has trailed off! When I had the most success, I was STRICT-I didn’t eat any AP or Flex points. Just goes to show how individual people are.

    I wonder if I’ve been a bit reluctant to go to the next level because it would entail one less point, and I’m afraid of trying to live life at 18 points (not that I’m even close to that).

    It’s great that you’re doing enough activity to actually warrant eating more. If you’re losing weight at a reasonable pace and have enough energy to do what you need, then you’re doing the right thing by tinkering with your points!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

