New Running Music

ist2_6928800-3d-music-notes

I wanted new music to go running with this morning. I love the music I run with now, but I’m getting a little tired of it, even though I change it up each time out. I jump around a lot, from Chris Daughtry to Gavin Rossdale to KT Tunstall to Collective Soul and Matchbox Twenty.

So last night before I went to bed, since I needed to charge my ipod anyway, I decided to download the latest Chris Daughtry album off of iTunes (at 11:30 at night). I owe a lot to Chris Daughtry. His first album got me walking, and then running, and well, here I am. For me, the tempo is just what I need to keep me moving, and I like his music.

I listened to the preview of a couple of the new songs and figured, I’ll like this. And I bought it. I was all excited about having new music to run with this morning.

When I went to download it though, my computer (which is kinda old) told me I needed to update to iTunes 7.6. Sigh. I go to update. Did I mention my computer is kinda old? Well, it’s slow too. I get a message that I need Windows Service Pack 2 before I can upgrade to iTunes 8.2. I go back and find iTunes 7.6 and attempt to upload that one. Now it’s like 12:15 am. Nope. Still need SP2 to upgrade to the latest iTunes.

So I attempt the Service Pack upgrade. My computer is not happy that I’m trying to throw all this new stuff at it, but it chugs along, initializing. Finally, updates start, I wait, and crap, the message tells me that I need the original XP cd. Yeah, ok. Did I mention that my computer is old? Do you think I have any idea where this cd might be? Now it’s 1:00 am, so I give up and go to bed.

But now I’m bound and determined to have new music this morning for my run. I wake up, get dressed, go to Walmart and buy the cd again, come home and head back to the computer. I upload the music, download it onto my iPod and I’m all set to go. It’s hot today…. and now it’s 8:15 am. I wanted to be done with my run by 8:00. I throw my stuff on, head out the door, and turn on my iPod. Nothing. Not even the old stuff. Argghhh.

I come back downstairs, re-sync my iPod. Ok, old music, no new music. Now, I won’t even leave the driveway until I find it. Finally, ah, a song I don’t know all the words too! My iPod didn’t sync in the order I had set up, but it was there.

Yay. Went for my run, it was a great one (2.5 miles in 26 minutes) , and  I really enjoyed my new tunes.

I’m wondering where I burned more calories? Actually running or fighting with the computer all night?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on July 25, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    😆 I suppose you’ve lost more calories by downloading. You should write Chris a thank you note that he helped you lose weight 🙂

    I like every kind of music for running as long as it has a beat. But have a pre for Bruce Springsteen songs.

    I use a program with podcasts for running so every training is a surprise which music I will hear. I don’t like every song but most songs are great for running. Favourite on this program is The Killers with Human.

    xxx Fran

    Reply

  2. This kind of stuff always happens to me – I live in some sort of technological Bermuda-triangle :). I love making themed running playlists, so if you ever need inspiration I invite you to check them out: http://myrunningshorts.wordpress.com/category/band-on-the-run/

    Reply

  3. I know exactly what you mean! It’s a nightmare, but when it works it’s so sweet. I’m also a big Daughtry fan!

    Reply

  4. Gosh, I so hate how you need to update Itunes constantly! If you’re a Daughtry fan you probably won’t like it, but I love Podrunner, a free podcast in Itunes. More dancy, but you can select your bpm to set the pace.

    Reply

  5. This stuff happens to me a lot too! So frustrating! We have a laptop & a desktop. The desktop is always having issues… Way to stick with it & definitely a quick paced run! Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

