Goldilocks and the Three Bikes – A Triathlon Tale

cyclingI have a triathlon coming up in a week. And I have yet to find a bike I am comfortable with. I would be Goldilocks in this tale. I’m blonde, maybe not young, but hey, use your imagination.

My first bike was just too big. And the seat was too hard. And while I rode it in my first race, it freaked me out because my feet didn’t come anywhere near the ground and I felt like I had no control. And the seat hurt my butt…a lot. Gears were smooth and the bike was fast. It was a great bike, but not the right fit.

My second bike (and by the way these are borrowed bikes while I’m trying to figure out if I like this triathlon thing) is too small and the seat is too…are you ready for this?…soft! This bike is a girl’s bike so my feet do hit the ground, and while the bike is actually the right size, I can’t seem to keep the seat raised, so there is very little leg extension. Makes hills really tough. And the gears are fussy. And the extension between the seat and the handlebars doesn’t put me in the right position for racing. I’m too upright and the resistance is slowing me down (and trust me, I’m not that fast to begin with). Plus, the memory foam seat that I first looked at as a godsend hurts my tailbone. Go figure. I will probably, however, ride this bike in this race if I can get the seat thing figured out, cause I don’t know that I can afford a new one just now.

I need a bike that’s just right. And I will be going out to shop for one this weekend. Not too big, not too small. A soft, but not too soft seat and just the right cycling angle.  After all the right equipment is everything!

And then we can all triathlon happily ever after.

By the way, my bike knowledge is extremely limited so I’m open to suggestions! Nothing too pricey though.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Oh yes, I learned all about this recently. A bike has to be fitted and set up for the rider and it’s all very complicated. Hope you can figure out the seat!

    Reply

  2. Posted by onelittlejill on July 24, 2009 at 1:45 am

    This is tough and I am def not the person to ask- what I do recommend however, is to go to a bike shop. I purchased a road bike but it has straight handlebars because I just am not comfortable yet with anything else. I was also fitted for my bike. It made a world of difference!! I hope this helps a little- good luck!!!

    Reply

  3. I love reading your blog – it’s so inspirational.

    To help get some more followers to our blogs – I’ve given you an Honest Scrap blog award. It’s just a fun little thing that helps bring more followers to your blog. I hope you’ll join in and accept your award at http:jojohill44.blogspot.com

    I don’t usually do these types of things – but I think you have a great blog, and we should spread the word 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Fran on July 24, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    I don’t know much about bikes but I suggest also that you go to a bike shop and try some bikes for a test drive and then let them prepare the bike so it suits you like you want it.

    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

