Mind Over Matter

So yesterday, my doctor removed my crutch. As I mentioned in my last post, I have heart palpitations, an irregular heartbeat, tachycardia, whatever you’d like to call it. Basically, I can feel my heart beating a lot of the time, which at the very least is annoying, and at its worst is a little scary. I’ve been on a beta blocker for two years to keep my heartbeat more or less regular. Losing weight and exercising regularly has changed the composition of my body, and the beta blocker was causing my heart rate to drop precipitously when I’m in a resting state. On an EKG yesterday, my heart rate was 32 beats per minute. No, I’m not in a coma.

But the rate was sufficiently low enough for the doctor to tell me to stop taking my medication— immediately. I asked if I should continue exercising until I see the doctor again on Friday, and her answer was a resounding yes. That would at least raise my heart rate. My concern though is that would also trigger the palpitations again.

So this morning I went running. Or running/walking, I should say. Which kind of bummed me out. I am also having a slight issue with a muscle in my hip, which was all twingy this morning too. But more than that, my concern was that I would set my heart off on its funky beat again, a feeling I do not like.

So I ran. And then when I was feeling even a little winded, I would walk for a minute or two and then run again. All told, I probably only walked a half mile of a 2.5 mile run and I tried to run the rest of it at a faster pace, which was the plan for today’s run anyway.

I was frustrated with myself though. I haven’t let getting winded slow me to a walk in more than a month now. This morning though, I let fear get the better of me. I won’t let that happen again.

So far, no palpitations. And my heart rate has been holding steady at about 50 beats/minute. It was considerably higher after running this morning. It will take another day or two for the medication to be fully out of my system. But for the rest of this week, while I’ll stay alert, I won’t be letting a little thing like fear of heart palpitations slow me down again.

I have a race in less than two weeks after all.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on July 22, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Seems to me that its a good sign that you’re off the medication? I can understand that you let the fear get to you this morning, after all you’ve always exercised on your medication.

    But I believe that the exercise has made your body and your heart stronger and that’s a good thing!

    Fran

    Reply

    • It is good that I am off the medication. I went off of it about a couple of months ago as well, but the palpitations came back. My heart is definitely stronger, my blood pressure is down and the doctor is very pleased with that. Now if we can just keep it beating the way it’s supposed to instead of however it wants to, we’re golden! 🙂

      Reply

  2. I am so glad you’re off the medication! Now you will get healthier and healthier!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

