Drumroll Please…..

Stars_StreamersThe Plateau is officially broken! One week before my one-year anniversary with Weight Watchers, the scale finally showed me some love! Would you like to know how much love?
3.6 pounds worth! Hard work paying off.

I lost 50 pounds from July 2008 through the beginning of April. It was slow but consistent and I was happy with that. I had my first race on April 18, and after that it was like my metabolism decided to just take a break. From April 18 to July 3, I lost 5.4 lbs. total. Not one of those weeks were losses without a decimal point in front of the number. But I stuck to it. And about a month ago, I started making changes each week to see if I could make the scale move. Nuthin, or at the very least, very little.

So last week, after my weigh-in (I stayed the same after a very rigid couple of weeks), I let it go. I decided I would focus on my triathlon training, part of which meant paying closer attention to the quality of the food I am eating, rather than making sure I stayed in points. After all, this is about being “fit,” not the number on the scale.

Fourth of July, I had Godiva chocolates (3 truffles), a killer dinner (more than usual points but all really healthy stuff) and even ice cream. Real Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. None of that light stuff. I paid attention to my portions. I tracked everything. I made points a secondary focus. I didn’t get hungry. And I really enjoyed my food.

This entire week I went walking, running, biking, swimming. I did abdominal work…all the stuff I’ve been doing, although I may have ratcheted it up a notch because I’m getting closer to my race date.

It was an epiphany for me because even though I was going over points some of the days, the number on the scale actually went down. I realized I had gotten myself into a weight watcher’s rut of  sorts. I was staying in points but maybe not making the best food decisions. So all this week I focused on the quality of my food. After all, the ultimate goal is good health. I’m going to continue with what I did this week into next week and beyond to see how it goes, although after this week’s loss, I’ll be content to stay the same next week.

175 was a comfortable weight for my body. I have been stuck here before many years ago. But now that my body has let the number go, I’m hoping to keep moving downward until I get to the weight that’s comfortable for my head.

I know getting healthy is not about a number. I do. But when the scale reflects our hard work, it feels good. It really, really does.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Good going!!!!!!!! That is fantastic!!!!! I think focusing on fitness and making good food choices – including DELICIOUS and satisfying food choices- is the way to go. That is so great!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. […] Original post by dfalv38 […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on July 9, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    And that’s so true: when the scale shows you your hard work paid off it feels really good!

    Congratulations: you did very well this week!

    xxx

    Reply

  4. Awesome! You did great! Not just this week, but during all those plateau weeks. The work you did then paid off on the scale this week. It all counts.

    Reply

  5. That is a lot of love this week! Woohoo! Congrats on an awesome week. Glad you got past that plateau!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ruth on July 9, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    YAY! Way to go. This is a huge weight loss… that scale really does love you. Share that love with some of us too 🙂

    http://shefit.wordpress.com

    Reply

  7. GREAT JOB BUSTIN’ ON THRU THAT PLATEAU!!!

    have a great and mooovement filled weekend,

    Miz.

    Reply

  8. Posted by maggieapril on July 11, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Awesome. Persistence , not perfection. Good lesson.

    Reply

  9. Congrats on the 3.6 loss! It does feel so good to see the fruits of our labors, doesn’t it? 🙂 I’m a WW member too, and it’s gret for portion control. But I’ve learned a lot on my own about what kind of foods I should be eating, how much fiber, sodium, etc. And that, along with weight training and cardio, is helping me lose at a good pace.
    It takes time, but it’s so worth it.

    Reply

  10. Posted by maria on July 14, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    You are awesome! Have you ever heard of the site mapmyrun.com? You can get an accurate mileage total from your run by clicking on the streets you ran and/or map out a run of any distance you want in your neighborhood, or anywhere you want to run. I recently found this and it has saved me from having to drive all my routes! I hope this helps! Keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

