A Nod From Another Runner

manrunningThis morning on my run I crossed paths with Gazelle Man again. This time we were going in opposite directions. Him flying by in all his barely dressed glory (sporting only running shorts and sneakers) and me plodding along about halfway through my run. Gazelle Man is young, tall, lithe– a running vision; heck, maybe even a running god. I mean the man didn’t even have an iPod.

As he passed me this morning, he nodded and held up his hand. The runner’s wave. I got the runner’s wave from Gazelle Man, validating my efforts as a runner.

So what if the scale won’t show me love? Gazelle Man acknowledged my running this morning and that was way more satisfying than a half pound loss!

So thank you Gazelle Man. And for all of us running out there, whatever level you’re at, remember to give a runner’s wave to the others you pass along the way, whatever level they are at.

Have a happy Fourth of July everyone!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on July 3, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Gazelle Man sounds cool!

    Here in Holland we also do the wave when we pass other runners so yes: I’ll follow your example!

    Have a great 4th of July!

    Reply

  2. Posted by julierje on July 3, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    what an awesome post! Love the “runner wave” especially on my long runs on Sat. We are all out there trying to get it done no matter how our abilities may differ. Last weekend had a guy give me a big thumbs up as I passed him. On the way home, I saw him again, so I returned the thumbs up. Big smiles for both of us 🙂 Glad to find you on twitter. Love your twitter name and look forward to following you. Happy 4th!

    Reply

  3. Love the runner’s wave! It always makes me move faster… makes the run feel better. Amazing how such a small gesture can make such a huge difference, eh?

    Reply

  4. I LOVE the runner’s nod. I recently started to get more of those from that exact type of running man… The “serious runner dude” type. Doesn’t it just make you feel like part of something special.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

