Weight Loss Maintenance Practice

I stayed the same at Weight Watchers at weigh-in this week. And this makes me all whiny and frustrated. It also makes me want to eat. However, I refuse to let this scale stall get to me for long. I had my little hissy fit and indulgence this morning and I’m over it. Or I can pretend to be over it anyway. I’ll probably really be over it by tomorrow.

This was a good week. I ate  well (played around with my points some and tried to make healthier food choices to see if that would kick-start the weight loss again, but no). I got lots of great exercise. I even ran a full 3 miles for the first time. Huge accomplishment. I feel thinner and my clothes are fitting well.

I like the things I’m doing now. I can eat the way I’m eating forever, and I enjoy exercising (go figure.) I can even live with the weight I’m at. I like the way I look. When I started, I thought I’d be lucky to get to this weight.

The last time I was here (174.8) was 25 years ago, before I started gaining more. It was my first really “overweight” weight. And I was here for a long time. My body is comfortable here. I think I’m frustrated because I lost 50 pounds in 8 months and then I’ve lost only 5 pounds in the last three months, and I’ve been sticking to program all along.

So the two pieces of advice/sympathy I got this morning:

My WW leader, who has lost 100 pounds, said she went through the same thing. She said the first 50 came off easy (it was the new fat), but her body held onto the second 50. Eventually though, she lost it. Patience.

A friend at work, who has also lost 100 pounds on Weight Watchers, asked me how long I’ve been losing. A year. He said, “You’ve lost 55 pounds in a year. That’s great.” I said it’s not bad. Not bad? Nothing like turning a positive into a negative.  I need to celebrate my accomplishment rather than diminish it. Don’t we all do that?

So I’m focusing on the positive. I’m going to continue to make all the changes I need to live a healthy and fit lifestyle. I’m ready for my triathlon coming up in August. And just think, the slower the weight comes off, the better chance I have to maintain it.

I’m looking at my current plateau as maintenance practice. After all, someday, my goal will be to stay the same each week. I think I’ve got that part down.

5 responses to this post.

  1. You are doing an amazing job and I am so happy you are not letting the scale bring you down. Yes, you stayed the same again this week. But hey…It’s not a gain! 😀

    Congrats on running 3 miles! That is awesome! I hope to one day be able to run like you do but for now, I’ll stick to walking, LoL.

    Keep up the good work and remember…You are doing GREAT!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Fran on July 2, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I’ve read once that if you reach a weight which you’ve had before and for quiet some time in your life, your body recognizes it when you get there, you will stand still for sometime instead of losing weight but eventually you will lose the weight?

    Am I making sense? 🙂

    I’m sure you’re gonna lose weight again eventually and in the meantime: you really didn’t do bad, not bad at all!

    Reply

  3. I have given up worrying about the scale… As long as I’m doing the right thing – eating healthy and exercising – the weight will come off. So I just concentrate on doing what I can!

    You are doing well, so don’t worry!

    Reply

  4. Thank you! Blog love is even better than scale love!

    Reply

  5. Posted by maggieapril on July 3, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I am going through the exact same thing – although I have a tendency to go off-plan sometimes – I lost 80 pounds in 2008 but have lost only 10 in 2009. (Yes, the old “only” 10.) But I keep dragging along – determined that someday this last 20 will melt away – with considerable effort on my part, of course.

    maggieapril from http://www.tastenotwaist.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

