More Substantial Changes and the Missouri 60 Challenge

So I’ve never shown myself on this blog, other than recent race pictures, because well, I don’t really like seeing pictures of myself, although I don’t mind them nearly as much now as in the past.

In the spirit of the Missouri 60 Challenge (Missouri is the “show me” state) I am posting a current picture of me and in 60 days I’ll post another.

This is me today.

This is me today.

The idea of the Missouri 60 challenge is to set goals and then achieve them within the 60 days. They don’t even have to be fitness related, but in my case some of them are.

1. I have a big project related to my weight loss I’d like to get underway.  In 60 days I hope to  see that come to fruition (more about this in a couple of weeks.)

2. I have my first triathlon on August 1. My goal is to finish this in under an hour. That’s only like 35 days away, but I think it counts.

3. I’d also like to find a 5K or 10K to run in and be at the point where I can compete comfortably in 60 days. Right now I’m running 2.5 miles. I’d like it to be 5 or 6 miles in 60 days, but I’ll be happy with 4.

4. The scale has been unpredictable so I’m not putting a weight on this challenge. My goal is to be fitter in 60 days than I am now. And if the weight comes off, that’s a bonus!

I’m excited for this challenge! The deadline is June 30 to join. If you’d like to be part of it, get those pictures up there!!

Before and after:

Me last year before transformation

Me last year before transformation

This is me now too, just so you can see the difference.

This is me now too, just so you can see the difference.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! You look fantastic!! Congrats on your weight loss so far.

    Glad you are on board for the Missouri 60! Can’t wait to see your progress in 60 days!

    Reply

  2. Posted by halfthegirliusedtobe on June 25, 2009 at 12:23 am

    You look incredible 🙂 Keep up the good work! I’m dying to know how the Tri works out!

    -1/2 Girl

    Reply

    • Thank you! I’ll keep you posted on the tri. My first tri was supposed to be April 18, but that was turned into a duathlon because the pool was closed. I’m more of a swimmer than a runner, so I’m hoping the actual triathlon will be even better!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Fran on June 25, 2009 at 4:50 am

    Wauw you look great but what I’ve noticed most: there’s a sparkle in your eyes on both pictures!

    Good luck with your goals for the Missouri 60, sure you’re gonna make it!

    Reply

  4. Posted by onelittlejill on June 25, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    You look AMAZING! You should be so proud!

    Part of the reason why I am vigalant about staying fit is because I come from a long line of overweight women. My mom spent the last 5 years working hard to lose 115lbs and she looks fab- I love seeing how excited she gets about new clothes, adventures…everything. Your battles actually remind me a lot of hers and your post often remind me of conversations her and I have had. I have never been what I would call “fat” but I have certainly walked the fine line between healthy and overweight. Watching my mom, whose battle was far bigger than mine is a daily inspiration. I bet you are the same for your family, whether you know it or not.

    Keep up the GREAT work.

    Reply

    • Thank you so much. Your mom sounds like an amazing woman and I’m proud to be compared to her! You are so smart to recognize and develop healthy habits now. They will be with you for a lifetime.

      Reply

  5. […] dfalv38 wrote an interesting post today onMore Substantial Changes and the Missouri 60 Challenge « Fat <b>Girl</b> <b>…</b>Here’s a quick excerpt […]

    Reply

  6. Those are great before and after shots. You have done a great job and should be so proud. And then in two months you can look at your progress again and be proud!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Fran on June 27, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Hi Diana,

    I’ve followed your example and opened a blog which might help me lose my weight. Maybe you’ll come visit me sometimes when you have the time?

    Greetings, Fran
    http://dutchgirlgetshealthy.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  8. You look really good! I posted my Missouri 60 post a couple of days ago as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

