Wake Up!!

alarm-clock-roosterIf you told me a year ago that I would get up at 5:30 am, get dressed and go to the gym, I would have laughed and laughed and laughed. Heck if you told me that I would get up at 5:30 am for any reason other than a fire, you would have gotten the same reaction.

Now, I get up at 5:30 am and go to the gym, or go out for a run or a bike ride. And I like it. And on the rare occasions when I oversleep, I hate that.

I converted to a morning exercise routine in late January because getting to the gym after work became impossible with my work schedule and I knew it would stay that way through March. Since my very first race was in April, if I planned to finish, I needed to adjust to a morning routine.

At first, I hated this. I mean HATED this. I am not an early morning person. I like to stay up and watch John Stewart at night. So the first week was torture. However, I did like the idea that my workouts were done when I went to work in the morning. And I was finding that even though it was a crazy stressful work time, I seemed to be handling the pressure better and getting through the 12-hour days more easily.

And even better, when I work out in the morning, it almost feels surreal, like I dreamt it instead of actually doing it. Wouldn’t that be nice? If we could stay cozy under the covers and dream ourselves fit? However, the changes in my body are proof that I am actually getting out of bed.

The last month, I let my morning routine slip a bit, partly because of some very disagreeable weather here, and I’ve been running and doing my other stuff after work. I don’t like it as much. It feels more like a chore. So I’m back to my morning routine as of last week. Much better.

Working out in the morning does mean getting to bed earlier. All I can say is I’m grateful for DVRs.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fran on June 22, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Nice blog and I agree with you: excersize in the morning feels better. You have the whole day ahead and already excersized. Unfortunately I can’t do it through weekdays, except when I have the day off. But maybe its worth considerating to get up early.

    Do you go immediately after waking up? Because I’ve noticed that my legs need at least half an hour after getting out of bed to get ready for running.

    Reply

    • I usually go out for a run within 15 minutes of waking up (I walk the first quarter mile when I do this). I don’t leave myself much more time than that if I’m going to make it to work on time. I grab a really quick bite to eat (like a piece of babybel light cheese) and a little water and go. If I’m headed to the gym, I have a few minutes to wake up because I have to drive there. either way, i get a much better workout in the morning before the stress of the day takes over.

      Reply

  2. Posted by onelittlejill on June 22, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I actually had that GODAWFUL alarm clock. Holy ROOSTER it was bad!!

    I work out two mornings a week in the summer at 545am (5am wake up call) and one weekend morning (7am wake up call) and they are my favorite workouts. I wish I could bring myself to do all my workouts that early but I just cant keep up. I am going to try to add one more this year so we will see!

    Great job 🙂

    Reply

    • oh you poor thing…on the alarm clock! my weekend morning workouts are my favorite. I usually get going around 8:00 on the weekend mornings. much easier than 5:30 am, and still done before the day really gets started. Good luck!

      Reply

  3. I cannot even imagine waking up that early. I go running in the evening, in the morning I am just super grumpy.

    Reply

  4. I envy you running in the morning. I do wish I could do it but it seems to take my legs and feet a half hour to un-stiffen from not moving all night. That and I get up at 5am as it is, I’d have to get up at 4. Goodness, why can’t I get by with just 4 hours of sleep!

    Reply

    • Earlier than 5? I wouldn’t be running in the morning then either. Not to mention it’s still dark out at 4 am. You have a routine and great goals though, so you’ll do great with your running. Good luck on your 5K!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

