Weight Watchers Strategy

I had a really good week this past week. I stayed in points, ate healthy, exercised a lot. I am now even able to run an entire 2.5 mile stretch without walking. I feel like a kid with a new toy (my own legs!).

But I was up 2 pounds at my Weight Watchers weigh-in last night. And while normally I moan and groan about losing slow or gains that I can’t attribute to a huge backyard BBQ, I’m ok with last night’s gain. Why? Why would a 2-lb gain be acceptable you ask? Because it’s all part of a strategy to get past this semi-plateau I’ve been in for the past two months. When I started Weight Watchers, my meetings were at night. Thursdays before weigh in, I’d pretty much stay low in points (however, I don’t starve myself), so I’d see good results. And then I’d go have pizza and Pro-portion ice cream, and on occasion, be even more decadent. Yum! My treat for working hard all week.

A couple of months ago, however, my work schedule went wonky and there was no way I was getting to a 6:30 pm WW meeting, and I couldn’t hold out with no food. So I started weighing in in the morning. The first couple of weeks, “Yippee!” good losses and that was out of the way. And then came the decimal point. I would stay the same or lose small fractions of a pound and this has been going on for awhile. I know the body has to adjust. I know there are hormonal fluctuations and I had those things pretty much figured out in my previous six months on the plan. But this new really slow weight loss was unusual. What was I doing wrong? I wasn’t doing anything really different. And if anything, I had less points and I was upping the exercise as I get better at it.

Granted, there were those weeks (birthdays and such) where no loss or even a gain was warranted. But every week, these little bits? Frustrating.

And it dawned on me. Weighing In in the morning had liberated me and my evening after Weigh-In Treat was becoming an all-day Food Free-for-All, especially on days I was particularly frustrated with the scale. And if I happened to jump on the scale on Friday morning, any loss and then some would be back. So I’ve been effectively losing 2 pounds a week. It’s just the same 2 pounds over and over again.

The Point. I went back to night Weigh-Ins to curb the Thursday Endless Treat day. I was up. But this morning, I weighed myself and I was the same weight I was yesterday morning. Phew! If I lose two pounds this week, I’ll at least be starting from a lower weight and maybe I’ll even see it at my next weigh in.

In the meantime, I’m also going to take some of the scale’s power away. I need to weigh in to stay accountable. But for this week at least, I’m going to measure my success more in miles I run, meters I swim and actually doing the Pilates DVD I picked up a couple of weeks ago. Hopefully, the scale will reward my effort. If not, I’ll take solace in the fact that I’m getting stronger.

And then I can always weigh in the next week in the morning. I’m guaranteed to lose at least two pounds that way. tee hee!!

5 responses to this post.

  1. What a nice healthy post 🙂 I too, have been on a plateau, losing and gaining the same freaking five pounds (until just recently, now that I have tweaked my protein intake). I would get so frustrated but then I realized that my body was still changing in some positive ways due to exercise! Yes, concrete numbers (on the scale, on our clothing tags) are data points, but they’re not the whole story, and they don’t paint the whole picture! Good going!

    Reply

    • Posted by Sandra on June 25, 2009 at 5:11 pm

      Just curious did you eat more or less protein?
      I have lost 9 lbs in 5 weeks and still have 36 more I want to lose…I want it to come off at at least a
      2 lbs/week rate. I keep in my points and exercise 5 times/week.

      Thanks!
      Sandra

      Reply

      • I eat a combination of protein and lots of fiber, and I do try to get lean protein at every meal. Up to 50 pounds I was losing about 1.5 pounds a week, give or take. It has slowed down substantially after that so I’ve been trying to figure out what to change.
        Staying in points and exercising 5 days a week is so great! Just keep that up and the weight will come off. I would vary your food and exercise and develop a routine that you are comfortable with.You’ll get there. Keep me posted!

  2. Posted by maggieapril on June 14, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Funny how rewarding ourselves with food slows down the old weight loss, huh? But you’ve lost a lot of weight and are getting lots of exercise, so I have faith that you will reach your goal!!

    I’ve been struggling myself, so I feel your pain. Best of luck this week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

