Frustration and Fat Days

I was down .8 lbs. at my Weight Watchers weigh-in yesterday and I should be jumping for joy. I have consistently lost weight since I started in July of 2008, with only one or two little gains and a month-long plateau. The weight loss has never been speedy (5-6 pounds a month), but in the past couple of months, wow, it’s been even slower. .8 was great, but I haven’t seen a loss without a decimal point in front of it in about 10 weeks.

And instead of inspiring me to try harder, that little decimal point can sometimes set off a chain of events that leaves me making wrong choices and feeling, well, fat. And that’s what happened yesterday.

I made some positive changes to my food choices and my tracking last week,  I stayed on target, I exercised…even had a triumphant 2-mile run on Wednesday. And then Thursday rolls around and the scale doesn’t do what I want it to. And I know, I’m complaining when really I have no right to.

I have no problem when the scale reflects my sometimes poor choices. It’s when I do everything I’m supposed to do and I still don’t get the result I’m looking for that I struggle with. Seeing that scale move on Thursday is a reward for doing the right thing for my body all week long. And while it’s not my only measure of success, it’s a big one, even though I know it shouldn’t be.

But being wired the way I am, I react to frustration by eating. The. Wrong. Things. My weigh-ins are now in the morning, and weigh-in days have always been treat days. On a frustrating weigh-in day, the treats end up going all day. Yesterday’s treats, among other things, included some Girl Scout Cookie thin mints that I had previously forgotten were even in the pantry. sigh. As soon as I’ve weighed in, I start eating and I’ve set myself up for a disappointing weigh-in again next week. And today, I feel bloated and fat. Amazing how the after-effects of one bad food day can erase a 55-pound weight loss.

Enough whining. Here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to take the hit next week and go back to weighing in after work on Thursday. This may mean a gain, but that’s ok. It will keep me on plan all day on Thursday, and treats (pizza and Pro-Portion ice cream) will only be in the evening, keeping the splurge to one meal. And hopefully the following week, I’ll see a better result on the scale. At least I know I’ll be taking positive action toward a better result.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by onelittlejill on June 5, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    I love WW…I really do. I am a huge promoter of theirs when people ask me my thoughts on weight loss. I think WW has a FANTASTIC program. BUT (you knew there was a but right?!?) I also think that WW promotes an addiction to the scale. I was weighing myself all the time. All. The. Time. And mad about small losses instead of being happy or proud. If there was a week where I felt like I lost but didnt I would binge. So I stopped getting weighed for a while. I didnt weigh myself for about 3 months. It was really hard, I wont lie…but I always felt great. When I did weigh myself after 90 days, I had lost 8lbs…which isnt a whole lot if you break it into weeks but felt great bc 8 is a big number. And the biggest difference was how great I felt. Now I weigh myself once a week…Sat or Sun, before breakfast. Thats all.

    It is just a suggestion, but it might help with your frustration to just step away from the scale for a while. Concentrate on what your body is telling you and not the number on the scale.

    🙂 Hope you have a better day tomorrow

    Reply

    • Thank you Jill. I weigh myself all the time too. Sounds like we have similar reactions to the scale not showing us what we want to see. I may try to stay away from the scale for awhile. Sounds like something I really need to do!

      Reply

  2. I was looking for inspiration from other people trying to lose weight. I found your blog.
    Yesterday I attended a LAPD recruiting event for women. Since I past the written exam, I thought I would go see what the meeting was about. I have to say, it was very encouraging and motivating. I totally respect the woman of LAPD.
    Now that I have shared, I did realize after I attended this meeting, I have a long way to go to reach my goal.
    I found out that I am over 30% body fat. Yeah I am a FAT girl! No getting around it. I am also 45, and now competing with all those young girls for a place in the LAPD. The good thing is that even though I let myself go for the last 3-4 years, I was always in good shape before, so my body has muscle memory if I follow through this program.
    Today I start my first day of getting in shape. I need all the help I can get. I have a lot of people telling me that I can’t do this, which makes me more determined.
    The one thing I am going to do that is really important is improve my water intake. I have always had a problem with drinking enough water. I usually forget. What I don’t want to happen is for me to get dehydrated while working out or dieting.
    I found this really cool tool called a FIT Clip or Fluid Intake Tracker. It is a light plastic clip that attaches to any standard water bottle. It so easy to reach my water intake goal. I just clip it on. Drink my bottle . . . when I’m done, I clip it off and replace it with another water bottle. I start at 1 and then when I exchange it for another bottle, I move the notch down to 2 and so on . . . until I reach my desired amount. I know drinking enough water is part of my problem, since drinking enough water helps to break down metabolic fat. More than that . . . water is so very good for you for so many other reasons. Just look at the WATER.COM website.
    Anyway, I hope I can reach my goal. I really want to suceed. I know I have to lose about 70-100 lbs. Maybe it might be 1 year before I can a police officer, but I don’t care. I just want to do it for myself and not have other people tell me I can’t do this.
    I need all the encouragement I can get.

    Reply

  3. I can so relate, i’m the same way only i’m way supersized!! I started weighed 605 lbs three weeks ago, and through some major modifications had dropped 29 lbs, this past week I didn’t log food and pigged out on frozen yogurt and other things I shouldn’t have because I was exersizing, and I paid the piper but gaining back some of the weight i’d lost, and it really bummed me out. Not sure why since I thought I was going to not lose much because of how I’d been eating. Yesterday no logging/not best choices but today I joined livestrong.com (free) and started logging my food/everything that goes in my mouth, I will drop the weight, and it’s simple eat more calories than I excersize = weight gain!

    Check out livestrong.com it has every brand food i’ve needed to log so far, including the wal-mart brand!! Congrats on all your progress, you’ll get there! Much sooner than me 🙂 But hey it’s about the journey!!

    Reply

  4. It is frustrating when the scale doesn’t react the way you think it should, but think of how far you have come! That’s fantastic! And the scale WILL budge again – can’t wait to read about it! 😉

    Reply

  5. I have come to the conclusion that WATER is such an important part of health and fitness. For one, you have to drink WATER if you are going to work out. If you don’t, you just get dehydrated. Two, it is important to drink enough WATER because it helps to breakdown metabolic fat. It also helps to make you feel full if you drink plenty of water before and during your meal. Since I have been drinking eight glasses a day (or should I say drinking 8 standard water bottles) I feel better. I have noticed my skin looks really good. In just two weeks, I have lost 5 pounds without really even trying (okay I have improved on my eating habits). I just didn’t know how powerful WATER was until I really focused on staying properly hydrated. Boy that FIT Clip really makes it easier to keep track. Why couldn’t they make this years ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

