I DID IT!

This morning I woke up at 6:00 am to a thunderstorm. Darn…And I was planning to run outside. I figured I’d be running on the treadmill at the gym and then going swimming. I’m off from work today, so I decided to  work out after I dropped my daughter off at work, around 8:15. By that time, the skies had cleared and didn’t look too ominous anymore so I threw on my workout stuff, sneakers, iPod and sunglasses and headed outside for my run. There were still clouds but they didn’t look too threatening.

I had decided that today I would push for a full run without walking. And I DID IT! I walked the first quarter mile to warm up and then started running…and never stopped until I got back to my house, a full 2.25 miles running, me… running the whole way, no walking. It’s a shock, I know! I even stepped up my pace the last quarter mile.

I took some advice from a fellow runner on Twitter–slow down the pace and just don’t stop running– and I took some encouragement from a blog that I read regularly, http://doesthisblogmakeuslookfat.com, to just keep the negative thoughts out and keep telling myself that I can make it. And it worked! Hills and all. And it wasn’t even as difficult as I’d imagined. My breathing felt regular and strong, my legs didn’t feel like they would buckle, my knees were a little annoyed at me but not too bad, and I still had energy to spare when I got home. You have to love that adrenaline rush! I actually went and swam 820 meters (900 yards) after my run. Not only did I run my hoped-for two-mile distance and then a little more, I did a brick workout to boot.

It was exhilarating. And now I get it. I get why running is cool. For me, it has been frustrating lately because I just couldn’t seem to get past the need to walk, but now that I have, I feel amazing. I kept challenging myself, and the hard work is paying off!

Now that I’ve done it once, I know I can. There will be far less walking on my runs going forward.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tippity on June 3, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Awesome!
    Good for you!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by onelittlejill on June 4, 2009 at 2:23 am

    Great job!! Sometimes we have to forget about times and just run…:)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Meg on June 4, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    I’d tell you to come visit your former office and flaunt your new body but there’s barely anyone left you know! Keep up the fantastic work. I am trying to run more, walk less on the treadmill.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

