You Are What You Eat

choccakewhitefrostingsprinklesFor the most part, since starting my get-fit journey, I eat pretty healthy. Not always perfect, but better than I used to. I limit sweets and caffeine. I make sure I eat lean proteins, lots of fiber, fruit and some veggies (not a big fan of veggies but I’m working on it!)

But this weekend, being my birthday and all, I was not as careful about what went into my mouth. And I managed to eat a surprising amount of birthday cake and other goodies. The birthday dinner was lobster and steak…barring the butter, not such bad choices, although I will admit there was an abundance of food.

But my downfall was definitely the sweets. Always has been, always will be. I ate A LOT of cake on Sunday and Monday (the actual birthday).

And then I went running on Tuesday. ARGGGHHH. I felt like I was running in quicksand. My body completely resisted the effort and there was lots of walking involved. I rationalized that at least I went. Yesterday, I went swimming….in what felt like mud. Even though Tuesday was a better food day, the residual from the revelrous weekend seemed to still have a hold. Yesterday was a very good food day. Back on track and when I go running tomorrow, I’m expecting vast improvement (fingers crossed).

Thursdays are an exercise day off because I have my Weight Watchers weigh-in. Surprisingly, I was down .6 lbs. Hmmm. Maybe the food craziness wasn’t as horrible as I’d thought. But it definitely affected my workouts this week.

So I’m down a total of 54.2 pounds. Slow but steady….

Now I just have to get through Memorial Day weekend.

2 responses to this post.

  1. If you can’t eat cake on your birthday then when can you, right? Love the blog, very informative and inspirational. Thanks!

    Jen
    http://www.bodaweightloss.com/blog

    Reply

  2. Posted by whenilookinthemirror on May 24, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Happy birthday! God, that cake looks good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

