Turning 50 and my RealAge

Yes, I’m going to make you read all the way to the end of the post to find out my RealAge (or you can just skip down if you’re impatient)!

Last year, just before I turned 49, I stumbled upon the RealAge website, designed by the “You” doctors, Dr. Mehmet Oz and Dr. Michael Roizen. There is a test on this site where you can determine your “Real Age” based on the way you live your life, outside stress, even how fast you drive and if you have pets. I thought it was kinda cool, so I took the test, honestly. Meaning I answered the questions honestly. I did not tell them I weighed 110 pounds…Seriously, who would know? But I told the truth. I also answered honestly about my then-sedentary lifestyle and the fact that I liked to eat Entenmanns cake for breakfast.

When I got my RealAge a year ago, I wasn’t too surprised that while I was only officially turning 49, I was really more like 52.3, based on the information I provided. I don’t smoke, and I only drink occasionally. I was fortunate to only be on two medications, and while my blood pressure and cholesterol were on the high side, they weren’t dangerously so. And I thought, well that’s not sooooo bad.

In July, totally unrelated, I decided to get a handle on my health and joined Weight Watchers and started moving, walking at first. And now I’m running, working out 4-5 times a week (most of the time) and I’ve lost 50 pounds. I’m down to one medication, and I’ve even been able to cut that dose in half, my cholesterol is still a little high but a lot lower than it was, and my blood pressure is normal. Chronic aches and pains are gone and I have tons more energy than I did a year ago.

I’m turning 50 in a couple of weeks (May 18). And when I took the RealAge test again the other night, my new RealAge is….drumroll please…… 45.1!

I’ve been taking care of myself for 9 months now and I’ve added 7 years to my life. How cool is that? And by the way, I still drive too fast and have other behaviors I could modify to get even younger.

It really takes the sting out of turning 50.

Try it. You might find out some very interesting things about yourself. I know I’m glad I’ve made some changes. Plus, they have some very cool info on the site as well.

Go to realage.com, become a member and see how old or young you really are!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, good for you!! Isn’t it amazing how making small changes and sticking with them helps you in the long run??!!

    Congrats on the weight loss too! 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by Geoff Rutledge on May 1, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Hi dfalv38,

    I’m a physician and former faculty member at Harvard and Stanford Medical Schools. I discovered your blog while looking for the best health writers on the web. I reviewed your posts, and think your writing would be a great addition to the Weight Loss Community on Wellsphere, a top 5 health website that has nearly 5 million visitors monthly. If you would like to learn more about how you can join our Health Blogger Network, republish your blog posts and be featured on the Wellsphere platform, just drop me an email at dr.rutledge@wellsphere.com.

    Cheers,
    Geoff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

