Backlash

I hit two of my very big goals last week on this fat to fit journey. I hit the 50-pound mark, a full month before my 50th birthday, and I completed my first duathlon (my wonderful triathlete brother says I can still consider myself a TRIathlete since it was supposed to be a triathlon and they took away my strongest leg (the swimming!).

On Saturday, I was exhilarated pretty much all day. I had to keep pinching myself–I could actually stop worrying about the race because it was done and I finished it. All of the things I worried about didn’t happen and  I made it. All of the hard work that went into it got me across the finish line. And I learned a lot about how to train for the next one too. Big lessons… like running on a treadmill isn’t even close to running on the road from an endurance standpoint. I pushed myself though for the past six months to become stronger and fitter and to do things I never thought I could do. And that feels great.

This week though has been weird. I’ve been struggling to eat right, after a triumphant day of unchecked eating after the race–which I’d planned for–and even though I keep promising myself I’ll get back to the gym, I haven’t gone since Saturday. Sunday was a planned day off, but Monday and today, I just couldn’t seem to drag my butt out of bed. It could be that it’s cold, windy and rainy here again, or it could just be that I’m feeling no particular urgency to go. The next race is in August.

At any rate, after working so hard and feeling so good, I’m feeling like the rest of this week has been somewhat of a setback. I’ve been towing the food/exercise line for 9 months and this weekend, I realized just how easy it is to slip back into old habits really easily. I’ve been eating better the rest of the week, but I don’t want to. It’s been a challenge. I guess to be successful, this is something I really will have to be diligent about for the rest of my life.

I can do it. I just need to set my next goal. And get back to the gym. After all, I’m not done yet.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by onelittlejill on April 22, 2009 at 1:21 am

    Take the time off. Be careful about what you are eating, but take the time off!! REST!!!! If you don’t take the time to rest, it will be worse in the long run. You have just finished a MAJOR accomplishment!!! Enjoy it, rest and get back after a few days!

    After my Tri I rested 4 days. After races, it depends on the length. I have planned 3 rest days after my half-marathon and no running for 5 days.

    I’m not expert, but that is my advice!!

    Congrats by the way!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

