Race Results and the Magic Number – 49

smiling because I finally found how to exit the transition area. oh and I'm almost done.

smiling because I finally found how to exit the transition area. oh and I'm almost done.

I did it! I seriously did it! I know this was a small race, but for me, it was huge, and it’s just the beginning.

I finished my race (the April 2009 Mini Mightyman Duathlon) this morning in 48 minutes, 47 seconds, but most importantly, I finished! The weather was perfect: sunny, warm and very little wind and the course was pretty flat, except for the hill at the beginning of the run, which, trust me, didn’t help me one bit.

My runs were tough, but apparently not as bad as I thought, and my bike was strong. I felt better on the bike today than I have in any of my workouts. I was even passing people!

I met some great ladies (those of us who were slow runners) while we were waiting to start, the event was really well-run (thanks Event Power), and the volunteers were super-supportive and encouraging. On top of that, I had my hubby cheering me on, along with my triathlete brother. They are the best.

Crossing that finish line is one of the best experiences I can remember. This is the first race I’ve ever done. I hope that each additional race will be equally as satisfying.

So what’s with the number 49? Even though Event Power had me in the 50-54 age group, I’m still 49…. for another month. I’ve lost 49 pounds (officially 50.2, but I’m sure after hitting the diner today after the race, it’s 49 again), and I finished my race in 48.47, pretty darn close to 49 minutes if you ask me. I just found that interesting.

I’m taking tomorrow off, but I’m back to the gym/road on Monday. There’s another race in June (which I’m going to train for but don’t know if I’ll be ready for because it’s longer and I still need a lot of work on the run), but I’m definitely doing this race again in August and hopefully the pool will be open, so I can swim too.

Overall, it was incredible, and I am so glad I challenged myself to take this on.

sheer determination as I closed in on the finish line. yay!

sheer determination as I closed in on the finish line. yay!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Torrye on April 20, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Great job on the mini mighty man!!! I was in that race this past weekend also…my first 🙂 Keep it up!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by peter on April 21, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I was there as well. I did it with my daughter.
    Congratulations!

    Reply

  3. You are friggin’ awesome! I love these photos of you and am just so proud to know you. I’d love to come cheer you on at the one in August; remind me, ok? –MM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

