4 days and counting

So as I mentioned, they changed my race yesterday. It’s no longer a triathlon, it’s a duathlon due to technical difficulties with the pool. And the swimming was my strongest discipline. Oh well.

Anyway, I got up this morning and did the race lengths for my workout: 1 mile run, 6 mile bike, 1 mile run. And it didn’t kill me.

First mile was pretty strong, very little walking. Bike was good too. Second mile was tougher, especially right off the bike, but I completed that one in 13 minutes. And I finished the whole thing in about 54 minutes, transitions and all.

The weather was good this morning. Cloudy, but warmer than it’s been and only a breeze. Hallelujah!

The weather’s supposed to be good on Saturday too. Now that I know I can finish the distances this way, I feel better, and I’m actually looking forward to the race.

I’ve decided to sign up for the June 7 race too. I really want to get this triathlon thing under my belt. That race will be a challenge: 750 meter open water swim, 11-mile bike and a 3.1 mile run. Lots of training in my near future. But that’s a good thing.

I turn 50 in May, and I may just be in the best shape of my life. I still have 20 or so pounds to get rid of, but I’ve already lost 49, and I’m feeling good and strong these days. It’s all good.

One response to this post.

  1. If swimming is your strongest discipline, try to think of this duathlon as a nice challenge! It will help bring your other two up to speed so you can kick all kinds of butt in June! Good luck tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

