Less Than A Month To Go Until First Triathlon Race Day

I have finally gotten through a very crazy-busy work schedule at the  job, and I just returned last night from Chicago, where I attended The Housewares Show. I went to the show on Saturday with the very best of intentions, bringing all of my gym clothes with me, prepared to hit the gym bright and early every morning. But alas, life got in the way. If you’ve never been to a trade show, there is an awful lot of walking involved and it’s pretty exhausting. I didn’t make the gym for the whole three days or today either. Still recovering from not enough sleep and sore feet from walking miles in heels.

Now I have to get back in the swing of things because with just three and a half weeks to go before my race on April 18, I will admit, I’m starting to get a little panicky. The weather is still really cold here on Long Island and I really need to get some outdoor running and biking in. I don’t think they are going to let me run my race on the stationery bike and treadmill.

I’ve been training, albeit slowly, for five months now. Coming from a place of no exercise though, it has been an uphill battle all the way. I’m pretty confident I can finish the triathlon, but I’m finding that the little dialog that goes on in my head has been a little on the negative side and that part of me is wishing I’d waited for the August race so I’d have more time. I suspect though, if I’d waited, when August rolled around, I’d be feeling just like this. This is my first race, ever. I’m excited to be doing it but I’ll admit I’m really anxious too. Maybe that will get the adrenaline flowing and make me run faster? What do you think?

I’m looking forward to getting back to my routine tomorrow. I think once I’m back in the gym, I’ll feel a bit better. In the meantime, I did ok foodwise over the weekend and I’m grateful for that.

4 responses to this post.

  1. When you feel nerves on race morning, tell yourself those are good nerves. It means the race is important to you and that the nerves will actually help you swim/bike/run faster.
    Keep it up!
    Sara

    Reply

  2. Posted by onelittlejill on March 25, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    If you listen to no other advice…listen to this: get the negative thoughts out of your head!!! They will for sure hurt you more than anything else on the race course. You are going to do fine!! And just remember…finishing is winning!!

    Reply

  3. Ahhh how I love swimming so much. Don’t you just find it so relaxing. Everyone should learn how to swim. If not you might want to consider taking swimming classes.

    Reply

  4. Now, I’ve never run a triathlon (my first is April 19), but from my experience, you’ll perform at your best race day. I’ve done a few 5ks and I’m preparing for a bike tour this weekend, and especially at my first race, there was adrenaline pumping and the crowd cheering and you just go. I imagine a tri will be similar, if not more exciting and such. You’ll do great. Just keep telling yourself that and begin to visualize you crossing that finish line!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

