How Far I’ve Come

I had a great run this morning. For me, anyway. I’ve been doing a modified Couch25K running interval training now since December.

And this morning, I ran a full mile without stopping. 12 minutes running without stopping. Did I mention this was great for me? Slow for anyone who is really a runner.  And I only needed 2 minutes walking recovery time before I was able to kick it up again and run the rest of my 2 miles (the distance of my upcoming race). I continued on the treadmill for three miles, but the triumphant part for me was finishing 2 in under 25 minutes (barely).

When I started Couch25K, I could barely run for a minute without feeling like collapsing. When I finally made it to three-minute intervals, I thought I would never get past that. And the first time I ran a 5-minute interval, I thought I might die. But here I am, running 12-minute intervals and now 3 minutes feels like cake. I don’t even notice when the clock goes past a minute anymore.

I’ve come a long, long way. I don’t know that I’m ready for my race in mid-April yet. I’ll be able to finish the 400-meter swim, 6-mile bike and 2-mile run mini triathlon, but I expect to be in the back of the pack. That’s ok. I’ll finish. If you told me a year ago that I’d even ever train for something like this, I would have fallen on the floor laughing.

The running has by far been the hardest part. But this morning it was worth every agonizing step. And I bet on April 18, when I cross the finish line, it will be even more worth it.

The added bonus? I’ve lost 46 pounds so far. Oh yeah, and I finally broke through that plateau with a 3-pound loss last week. Who says exercise isn’t fun?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by onelittlejill on March 17, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Sometimes, it is really hard to remember that your triumphs are triumphs. I do the same thing- I will be really proud of a 3-4 mile run @ 11-12 min pace but then think how slow that would be for someone else. But I always remind myself that when I started it took me almost 20 mins to get through a mile. This time last year I was preparing for my first 5k- now I am preparing for my first half! And your first 5k and my first half are the same day!!!! You are doing fantastic…keep up the good work!

    Reply

  2. Congrats! My first mile was quite the triumphant moment, too! I struggle with my running a lot, so I completely understand. I look forward to hearing how your first tri goes! I do my first the following day and it’s still the run that terrifies me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

