Struggling Through a Plateau

This morning when I got on the scale, it finally budged. I’ve been battling the same two or three pounds for four or five weeks now (I’d stopped counting) and I’ve been more than a little frustrated. This morning I was down two pounds from my weigh in on Thursday, where I was down a mere .2. That’s a total of 43 pounds but I’ve been stuck right there. I’m going to make sure I eat even healthier this week to keep this momentum going.  It just seems so easy to bail when the scale won’t give you any love.

Don’t get me wrong. I know it’s not all about the number on the scale. I’ve been getting in my workouts and feeling stronger and stronger. And even though I’m still a little worried about my race in a month, I know I’ll be able to finish it, even if I do have to walk some of the run.

My clothes are fitting so much better, and people are taking notice. It’s easy though to get lax when everyone is proud of you and the scale doesn’t want to cooperate. I feel like maybe I’m just fine where I am. But I’m at the plateau that got me the last time. I stopped what I was doing when I hit this weight because I felt good and looked better. I figured it was enough. I know this time though that it is not enough. I don’t want to be super-skinny, but I want to be truly fit. And I know that is going to take at least another 20 pounds, preferably 30. I want to feel like I felt before I had kids. I want to know what it’s like to be able to wear anything I want. No layers. Sleeveless maybe even this summer.

My workouts will get easier as I get smaller too, and that will help my race stats.  This first race is just one I want to complete. But going forward, if I want to “compete,” I’ll need to be in top form. And that means staying on track through this plateau and the next until I’m at a weight and size I know is right for me.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by onelittlejill on March 10, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Keep up the hard work! Working through the plateau’s is the hardest part- but you are so right that with every pound it gets easier and easier. You will know when it is right 🙂

    Reply

  2. You have the right attitude! The only way to break through the plateau is to keep doing what you’re doing: eating right, training consistently, and having faith in yourself. The scale is definitely frustrating, but it is only one form of feedback (and I swear, it’s the most fickle form.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

