My Weight Is Not “Lost”

I gained this week. And rightfully so. Valentine’s weekend, which was also my daughter’s birthday, was a diet disaster. Chocolate, out to dinner, homemade birthday dinner and birthday cake… I was up two pounds at Weight Watchers on Thursday, but that was down from where I was on the Monday following that weekend.

But that was ok. I take full responsibility. I ate too much and I “gained” weight.

It got me thinking though. I get to take responsibility when I “gain” weight. Why do we say we “lost” weight when we are getting rid of it?

I mean, I’ve lost my keys, you lose a tennis match, I’ve lost my mind, I lost my dog, I lost all my money in the crashing stock market….

If you think about it, when we “lose” things, it’s rarely intentional. An these are all things we’d like to get back, in fact, we’d work hard to get them back.

Now I don’t know about you, but I’ve “lost” 43 pounds. And I have no intention of finding them again. In fact, I still have more to get rid of. And my weight loss isn’t unintentional. I didn’t wake up yesterday morning to find my clothes too big. “Hey, where did those 43 pounds go? I could have sworn they were right here on me when I went to sleep last night.”

Nope. Instead, I’ve worked really, really hard to get rid of the extra weight. I’m careful about what I eat now (except this past weekend) and I get out of bed at 5:30 in the morning to go work out. This is not unintentional.

So I think we need to change the way we look at what we are doing when we “lose” weight. We need a new verb that gives us ownership of the process and all the hard work we have put into this effort.

How about shed, got rid of, obliterated, eradicated, tossed to the the curb? Anything that puts us in charge of the process. I think after working this hard, I should get to have ownership of what I am doing and make sure those around me know I’m doing this on purpose to be healthier.

This past week I gained 2 pounds (ownership). I didn’t find it. I know what I did to get it back.

Next week, I’m going to eradicate that two pounds and hopefully toss a couple of its friends to the curb along with it. There. Now it’s an action I’m intentionally taking. And that’s empowering.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Good point. I’ve never considered that wording. How about burned? You burn calories, and you can burn fat, too. I liked shed, as well, for the record.

    Reply

  2. I gotta agree with you. Nice perspective!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

