A non-runner takes up running

I’m starting to think I’m never going to get this running thing down. I was doing pretty well last week (I even ran a 5-minute interval and a 4-minute interval in the same workout). But this week, yikes! I was barely making 3-minute intervals.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve come a long way from where I began, having never ever been a runner in my 49 years here on earth.  Not even a little bit. But am I going to be able to run 2 miles by April when I have my race? I’m starting to wonder a little. I can walk if I have to, but I don’t want to. I WANT to run.

Today, I was at the doctor, and I was telling him about what I’m doing (you know the whole get a physician’s advice thing), and turns out my doctor was a long distance runner. Figures. He was telling me how once you get past 6 miles the rest of the run is easy. Yeah, ok. I can’t even get to six minutes. I’m thinking if I tried to run six miles, you’d be peeling me off the pavement way before I hit the finish line.

But I’m running more than I was a couple of weeks ago, so maybe there’s hope and I’ll get there. I did after all run a 5-minute interval once. That means that I have to be able to do it again. I need Bob from the Biggest Loser standing behind me telling me to keep going even when I feel like I can’t.

I have found that weekend running is easier because I can get to the gym in the morning before the stress of the day has worn me down. Maybe that’s the ticket. Run in the morning. I’m glad my race will be in the morning!

And any running training advice would surely be appreciated. 🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hi there! Congratulations on running!

    Running advice – have you looked at the C25K schedule? Forgive me if I’m repeating something that’s been said before, I’ve only seen this post. 🙂

    Walk/run intervals are a great place to start, and it seems like you’re doing a good job with it. You say you’re showing improvement after only a few weeks, so focus on that! Keep working your intervals and increasing the amount of your running gradually, and you’ll be running the entire 2 miles before you realize it.

    Also agree on the morning running. If I leave my run to the evening, I find it more difficult to do and also, half the time I talk myself out of even setting foot to pavement (or treadmill). Do what you can when you can! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by thepixelsuite on February 5, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Congratulations on taking up running and improving so far! And keep it up. Running truly is one of those activities that rewards sticking with it, coming back after bad days as well as good ones, and positive thinking.

    Remember, too, your mind is a big part of your running and walking. Often it’s going to try and convince you to give up and stop, and part of your training needs to involve working with your mind to overcome those urges. Even elite runners will say running is difficult and unpleasant while you’re doing it, and acknowledging that allows you to overcome the voice that tells you to take it easy when your body knows it can reach its goal.

    So, keep it up; heel-toe, heel-toe; and you’ll cross the finish line.

    Reply

  3. I know nothing about running but I wanted to let you know you’ve got support! You are doing this the right way and you will succeed. Teachers apear when students are ready, consider your doctor teacher 1. Keep it up!

    Reply

  4. I don’t have any advice really, just some understanding! I started reading your blog a few weeks ago, and I’m enjoying it. Congrats and you’ll do great!

    I’m training for my first triathlon, sprint distance. I was never a runner. I’ve always hated it. I loved the elliptical machine and could do it no problem for 45 minutes. Same with speed walking, but never running. I started training in June and I couldn’t run 3.1 miles until December when I ran my first 5k! (I’d done them before, but never running the whole time.) It’s still the only time I’ve made it that far. It’s discouraging for me too, but I’m trying to work past it and continue increasing my abilities. You’ve come a long way, so be proud! Some days will be harder than others, and I try to stay positive if I continue to push myself. I’m worried about running it all in my tri in April, too. I definitely know where you’re coming from, but keep it up and you’ll probably be passing me soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

