Triathlon Training – Couch 2 5K

pump-inclinelarger

I’ve been training for my triathlon coming up in April. Suddenly, four months doesn’t seem like a whole lot of time.

My biggest challenge is the running part because I’ve never ever been a runner. I barely completed the 1-mile runs in high school (and I was in good shape then!). Now 30-something years later, I’m starting to run.

Tonight I started week three of my Couch 2 5K training, only I modified it some. In week one, you run 60 seconds, walk 90 seconds. In week two, you run 90 seconds, walk two minutes (more than once obviously) and in week three, you are supposed to run 90 seconds, walk 90, run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes. Yeah, no. So tonight I ran 90, walked 90, ran 2 minutes, walked 2 minutes and so forth for 20-something minutes. I’m hoping by the end of week three, I’ll be able to do the 3 minutes. I’m super proud of the progress I’m making on this program. Total tonight, I ran 12 minutes of my time on the treadmill. Woo Hoo!

And the more exciting part? I actually like running. I mean really…the treadmill can get kinda boring, but by doing running intervals, it goes fast and its fun. I can’t wait until I can run the whole time! Hopefully before my race.

When I decided to go for the triathlon, the running scared me and almost kept me from signing up. But finding Couch 2 5K was just what I needed and with this, I know I can do it. When I started, I figured I can do anything for a minute. So that’s where I started. I’ll let you know when I can do it for 30 minutes!

Leave a Reply

