Triathlon Here I Come

Ok, so it’s official. Back when I decided it was time to get fit for my 50th birthday (and actually even way before that), I had always had the idea that I would participate in a triathlon. My brother is a triathlete, a good one, and he is in incredible shape. Coming from the same gene pool, I figure I can do this too. (oh sure.)

So I signed up and the date of my very first triathlon will be April 18, 2009, just one month before the big birthday. It’s a starter triathlon (Mini Mighty Man) with a 400 meter swim, 6 mile bike and 2 mile run. However, coming from my state of years of no exercise, this will be a challenge. I started preparing when I started weight watchers in July, with walking. Now I’m at the gym swimming, biking and trying to run (this will be my toughest challenge as I’ve never been a runner).

I’m fortunate to have a background in competitive swimming, and even though I hadn’t been in the pool in a very long time and am still recovering from a torn rotator cuff injury, this has come back easily.

The rest will be a little tougher. However, I’ve made the commitment, I’m ready and I’m really excited! Of course it’s easy to be excited when I haven’t been to the gym in a week because of schedule conflicts, but I’m back there tonight.

I know exercise is an essential part of losing weight. However, I’m not a huge fan of it (even though I love the way I feel when I’m done). It’s so easy to find a million excuses not to exercise. I figure signing up for this triathlon and sharing my intentions with the world will be one really big, good reason to be exercising…and getting fit along the way!

I’ll keep you posted.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hey Diane,
    Inspiring blog and I am so excited for you. I remember hearing about you and swimming – life guard right?
    Keep up the great work. I am forcing myself to the gym a lot more and coming home after fighting with the machines makes me feel like I can take on the day!
    Love the blog look – I want one like yours! 🙂
    Take care.
    elizabeth

    Reply

  2. Posted by run4change on December 17, 2008 at 2:15 am

    Hi there. I found you blog doing a search for other Weight Watchers people. That is so cool that you are doing a tri. You will get it done and it will be so awesome when you do. Fantastic job. I also turned from fat to fit and have since done 7 marathons and 4 ultra marathons. Keep up the great work.

    Just keep going with the weight watchers. I have been doing it for two years now. I actually lost 133 lbs the first year and have kept it off for the second year. I am so happy and encouraged that you are going for it. I am having a bit of a hard time with my points and eating that darn christmas candy at the moment.

    Great luck and the merry christmas. You can look at the inspirational before and after pics if you want to at the links below.

    http://run4change.wordpress.com/2008/12/13/before-and-after-pics/
    http://run4change.wordpress.com/you-can-lose-weight/

    Reply

  3. Wow, I admire you! That is a fantastic goal to set! I look forward to follwing your progress! I am a Weight Watchers girl too, so I will be back! Stop by my blog and see me sometime!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

