I Joined the Gym

So I did it. On Monday last week I joined a gym. It was something I was trying to avoid because I’ve never been a gym person, but it’s dark out now and I haven’t been able to get my walking in. And besides, I have a big fitness goal for April that would be almost impossible to meet without a pool. So I joined a gym with a pool.

I finally went to the gym for the first time on Saturday (and then again yesterday!). Surprisingly I enjoyed it. I found that it’s easier to run on a treadmill right now than the street (I’m still mostly walking and then running a half lap every half mile or so).

And I went swimming. I’ve always been a strong swimmer, having spent my youth at beaches, my teen years as a competitive swimmer and then as a lifeguard through college. And even though I’ve always loved it, as life got in the way, finding a pool became an obstacle. So I haven’t been swimming in a very long time. Add to that that I tore two rotator cuff tendons last year and a whole host of other shoulder problems, and I thought my swimming days were over for good. However, my doctor told me swimming is the best therapy for the shoulder injuries I had. So I went swimming and surprised myself that I was able to complete 8 laps. My shoulder hurt or I think I could have gone farther and I hope that I can continue to strengthen that arm and build up my swimming endurance again because it really was fun to get back in the pool.

This gym is on my way  home from work. I have to literally pass it to go home. So I’ll be hitting the gym before getting home from now on. I know if I go home first, I won’t go back out. And now that I’ve broken the ice, I’m looking forward to going again.

My goal for my fitness journey this time is to get strong and healthy. And I feel like I’m really on my way!

So far, 27.2 pounds gone, but more importantly, I’m getting really active and feeling stronger every day.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maggieapril on November 18, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Good for you! I envy your motivation to exercise. I’ve managed to stay motivated (for the most part) to stick to the WW plan, but I am so not motivated to exercise.

    Reply

  2. It takes a lot for me to exercise too. And I really have to push myself to do it. So I’ve set a goal, which I’ll talk about more in an upcoming post. In April, I’m planning to participate in a mini triathlon. I’ve got lots of work to do to get ready for it too!
    I’d like to lose 80 pounds total, and I want to limit any sagging as much as possible. If I’m in exercising, I’m expecting that will help.
    My advice? Start out slow, find something you enjoy and listen to music if you can while you work out. Make it your time. For a change, with this, I’m putting myself first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

