If I can give one piece of weight loss advice…

If I could give one piece of incredibly valuable weight loss advice, it would be to take your weight loss journey with a friend, relative, loved one…anyone who will make you feel accountable for your weight loss without judging you, and who will pull for you if you lose less or more or the same amount of weight as they do.

I’m doing the Weight Watcher’s thing with my 22-year-old daughter. I have substantially more weight to lose than she does, but then she has a much more active social life and is losing a little slower than I am. She’ll still hit goal way before I will.

We encourage each other and we weigh in together, go to meetings together, skip meetings together, and we keep each other honest through the week. We share tips, walk together when our schedules work, check out each other’s journals and just support each other through the journey.

And on Thursday nights after weigh-in, we eat together…..our treat foods–sicilian pizza for me and Taco Bell for her. And ice cream (Proportion ice cream so its not that bad for us though) It’s made this process so much easier and so much more fun.

So grab a buddy! You’ll feel less isolated and much more motivated.

Of course, in the end, it’s all up to you to make the changes that get your weight off, buddy or not. But it sure is fun to have someone to share the triumph with!!

Since I last posted, I’m down 4.8 pounds for a total of 23.6 (made my 10% goal tonight, yay!)

Kate is down 4 pounds since two weeks ago for a total of 15.8 pounds and she’ll hit her 10% next week as she is only .2 pounds away.

Next week, we’ll really be celebrating!!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maggieapril on October 24, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Congrats on that 10% milestone! I totally agree that having a weight loss buddy (in my case my Mom) makes things way easier. We go to meetings together and then go to the grocery together. Keeps me from putting plan-wrecker foods in my cart 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

    Reply

  2. Posted by stressedspelledbackwards on October 24, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    I agree it’s a great idea to diet with a friend. One thing I don’t agree with, however, is what you’re eating after your weigh ins. You’re supposed to be learning to choose better foods and reward yourself with things other than food. Taco Bell? That’s just toxic. After you’ve had a great weigh in, why take a step back and eat something so awful? Maybe I’m just a little confused, but that’s not something I could do. I’m spending alot of money on my weight loss journey–the last thing I would want to do is screw it up with fatty foods.

    Reply

  3. Six out of 7 days of the week, we don’t reward ourselves with food. However, since this is not a diet, but rather a lifestyle change, and we both enjoy those foods and would feel deprived if we didn’t have them ever again, we treat ourselves on Thursday nights.
    The whole point of Weight Watchers and being healthy for that matter is that you can lose weight and be healthy and still have room for some indulgences. I applaud you that you are able to stick a stricter regimen, but for us, we are trying to balance what is good for us and what maybe isn’t so good for us but is “oh so good,” so we can stick to this for life. And so far, it’s working!

    Reply

  4. Posted by stressedspelledbackwards on October 24, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Well whatever works! Congrats to you and Kate. =)

    Reply

  5. Congratulations on your weight loss journey. I couldn’t agree more about having a buddy.

    Recently my husband joined my gym, and now I go twice as often with his encouragement. 🙂

    All the best!

    Reply

  6. Congrats…that a great idea of doing with your daughter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

