What would we do without Hostess 100-calorie cupcakes?

Diet Salvation!

Diet Salvation!

That’s all I have to say!

I’m in week 12 of weight watchers and I’ve lost 18.8 pounds. Up until this week, I have been doing really well. This has felt easy, I’ve had a routine and being the sugarholic that I am, I’ve managed to find dessert substitutes that don’t sabotage my program…. weight watchers cookies and cream ice cream bars (2 points) or fudgsicles (1 point), WW chocolate chip cookies (1 point for one), and Hostess 100-calorie cupcakes (the chocolate ones are only 1 point for a pack). I’ve limited my yummy snacks like this to twice a day (sometimes three times if I’m really feeling like I need an additional fix) and I’ve felt great and the weight is coming off.

For whatever reason, this week— the cooler weather? that time of the month?— I don’t know, I have been craving comfort foods like  homemade mac and cheese or grilled cheese sandwiches, and sweets, chocolate primarily. I’ve fought them valiantly and stayed in points each day and have even done my walking, but it has been far from easy. This week, WW feels like a diet. And since I need to live like this for a long time, I don’t want it to feel like a diet.

So anyone have any suggestions on how to squash the cravings monster before I eat an entire box of Hostess 100-calorie cupcakes????? I’ve learned at least, not to keep anything more dangerous in my house! 🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alie0bronwynn on October 8, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Hey there,

    I COMPLETELY feel you. I’m feeling SO cranky right now and all I want is a donut. Bad. It’s all I can think about, all I can focus on – well next to the fact that I HATE having such issues with food.

    Anyway – there are a few things that we can do in these situations.

    Find comfort foods that are not pure evil. Some of my favorite not-so-bad-for-me comfort foods are hot chocolate, toasted sourdough bread, chicken noodle soup… etc.

    Find ways to pamper yourself that are not food related. My best example was that I was in a Walgreens and was going to let myself get a candy bar. But I’m an AVID reader and I don’t have the money all the time to get books. Well, I told myself “You can have the candy bar OR get a new book.” And you know what? I TOTALLY rather have the book, lol. Other things I do are long baths by candlelight (takes time, but feels like pampering myself), seeing a movie alone, a long walk on the beach (it’s funny how I love this but never make time for it)…etc.

    Give in. Okay, okay, i know – that sounds bad. But I have been planning on going to a SPECIFIC donut place to get a donut for MONTHS now. It’s a fancy donut place and you know what – I am PLANNING. I’ll plan out my points, plan out when to go and let myself indulge. So, maybe you have salad and soup for the majority of the week and plan on “going crazy” and making that homemade mac ‘n cheese on Friday night. It’s ok to indulge like that sometimes, as long as you plan for it.

    In fact – if we don’t let ourselves indulge occasionally WW can feel too restrictive and we are more likely to stop altogether. So, just “plan” if you are going to indulge. Plus, all the effort that goes into the plan will REALLY make you enjoy the food that much more because of all the thought. AND you won’t feel guilty for going “crazy”.

    Good luck!!

    Reply

  2. Drinking a lot of water helps for me. I also get on the computer and read/blog to get my mind of the food. Hope this helps!

    Also, sounds like we both like sweets. Have you tried the Chex bars? Turtle is my FAVORITE!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Skye-Lynn on October 9, 2008 at 4:46 am

    I understand your dilemma. I simply can not keep any type of “healthy junk food snacks” in my house. I go way overboard. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to control myself. But until then, they can not come into my house. Only fresh fruit for me.

    I know this isn’t going to help your craving situation, but have you ever tried the Hostess Chocolate Cupcakes in the freezer? Talk about yummy! They are almost the consistency of brownies. Now you see why I can’t buy them? LOL

    Reply

  4. 100-calorie cupcakes in the freezer. yikes! never thought of that. yum.
    i made it through the bad day and didn’t even go over points. Proud moment!!
    and i made my son eat anything in the house that would have continued to tempt me.
    he can eat whatever he wants!!
    Thanks for the encouragement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

