Fifty by Fifty

I’m turning 50 in May. Ouch. Not sure I’m loving that number.
Someday I’ll blog about my torn rotator cuff and the doctor telling me I had a 48-year-old shoulder. But I digress…

So when I started Weight Watchers in July, I decided that I wanted to be 50 pounds (or more) lighter by my 50th birthday. If I have to get older, I’m going to feel better about myself at 50 than I did at 48 or 49. I lost this kind of weight just before 40 too (65 pounds when  I was 38 to be exact.) Before I gained it all back…I have gained most of it back…I decided it was time to get back on the stick.

So that’s my goal. And it feels achievable. I’m down 18.8* pounds as of yesterday. And I’m now walking 3 miles at a clip. Today, I even ran a little. Already, I feel like I’m in the best shape I’ve been in in a very long time.

My total goal is 80 pounds, but I will be thrilled when that first 50 is gone. Heck, I’m thrilled now. I have another huge fitness goal too (for July). I’ll reveal that one when I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to do what I have planned.

*I lost 1.8 pounds this week, which felt like a reward for the miserable week it’s been. Kitty would be proud of me.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats on that loss! Wow!

    Reply

  2. Congrats on your loss! I know you will lose your 50 lbs by 50!

    Reply

  3. Congrats. Keep up the hard work and you’ll hit that goal in no time.

    Reply

  4. Keep up the great work. You are almost halfway there! 🙂 50 is a great number and will be a huge accomplishment. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

