Better Now…Music To Walk To

My motivation

My motivation

I think I mentioned in an earlier post that I’ve started walking with my iPod. It’s added a whole new really fun dimension to my walks and I really look forward to them now. After my walk tomorrow morning, I will have logged 10 miles this week! Before I started this Weight Watchers gig, I don’t think I’d walked 10 miles in 10 months. So I’m really proud of this accomplishment. PROUD MOMENT ALERT!

Tonight I worked two hours of overtime, a thunderstorm was brewing when I got home, and I was starving but I still grabbed my daughter and went walking before the storm. It made us walk a little faster…. 🙂

But I digress. When I walk by myself, which I love, I now take along my iPod and listen to upbeat music that keeps me moving along at a good pace and working up a sweat. My favorite walking song for either starting out or when I need that pick me up toward the end is a great song from Collective Soul called “Better Now.” Not only does it have the perfect walking beat (hard not to dance just a little), it has the best lyrics for those of us waging the weight loss battle:

Oh I’m newly calibrated
All shiny and clean
I’m your recent adaptation
Time to redefine me

Let the word out I’ve got to get out
Oh I’m feeling better now
Break the news out I’ve got to get out
Oh I’m feeling better now

Oh I’m happy as Christmas
All wrapped to be seen
I’m your recent acquisition
Time to celebrate me

Let the word out I’ve got to get out
Oh I’m feeling better now
Break the news out I’ve got to get out
Oh I’m feeling better now

The world’s done shaking
The world’s done shaking
The world’s done shaking me down

You can download it at iTunes. Or even listen just a little. I’m sure you’ll be adding it to your walking music too.

Tomorrow night is weigh-in night for me and Kate. Even if I don’t lose, I still walked 10 miles this week!

One response to this post.

  1. Hi – I just found your site while googling around on the internet. This post was really encouraging to me. I have an ipod but hardly ever use it, and I don’t even think I’ve tried it for regular walking in the neighborhood (I’ve used it for hiking). The reason I don’t walk is because I get bored, so I’ll try to make myself do this. And congratulations on your walking! That’s an accomplishment. Hope the weigh-ins go well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

