Staying on Weight Watchers and Gaining… :(

The enemy?

The enemy?

Thursday night is my Weight Watchers weigh-in night. And this week, I was not a happy camper. I was up .6 lbs. I know, all you veteran weight watchers out there are saying “Big deal.” But for me it was a big deal. I had a tough Saturday (lobster bake thing) but the rest of the week I was a model Weight Watcher. Stayed in points; some days I even gave points back to make up for the Saturday, and made sure I ate healthy, stayed away from too much salt, etc. I went walking a couple of times this week too.

Still a gain. Intellectually I know this happens, and I should be ok with it. “That time of the month…” “Water weight gain…” etc. But emotionally, it made me want to throw in the towel and eat a brownie sundae. I didn’t though.

Instead, I thought about all of things that have already changed because I have been on Weight Watchers for a month.

  • My clothes are just a little bit looser.
  • I don’t need as much Zantac anymore because my acid reflux has virtually disappeared.
  • I have more energy
  • I’m more focused
  • I’m proud of myself that I have gained control over my eating
  • I got a compliment from a coworker the other day and that felt really good.

So, I’m staying on program again this week (no big food events this weekend thank goodness) and I’m hoping for the best next week. In the meantime, I’ll continue to be grateful for the good things I’ve gained from being a Weight Watcher and I’ll let go of the .6 pound gain. After all, I’m still 7.6 pounds lighter than I was when I started.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by maggieapril on August 17, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    You totally have the right attitude, so I know you’ll be successful.

    I typically show a 1/2 pound gain every 1-2 months, but I also typically show a 3 lb+ loss every 1-2 months.

    Stay strong and have a great week!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

