Weight Watcher’s Weekend Challenges and Triumphs

I feel like I’m fixated on weekends in this blog… but for me those seem to be the toughest days to stay on track. Through the week, I’m at work and I’m on a schedule and have pretty much settled into a food schedule as well. But the weekends….

Last weekend I spent 30 hours in a car over four days…kinda tricky to stay on track, and while I didn’t have perfect days, I did better than expected.

This weekend….yikes….was even tougher. I went to a bar/concert on Friday night (the sister I went to see the weekend before was in town and we went out with another brother (I have four brothers and a sister). There was lots of alcohol and six-foot sandwiches (one of my favorites). But I did ok. I stayed away from the sandwich and had a couple of drinks, which I planned for and kept in points.

Last minute though on Saturday, I was invited to a lobster bake down at my brother’s beach club. This is where the real challenge was. I LOVE lobster, but I love it with butter. And corn on the cob, yum.

And even worse, my sister-in-law put noshes on the table to start the festivities. Cashews,  pretzels, cheesy dip and grapes. All in all, more or less healthy foods, but foods that are easy to abuse. I learned something about myself on Saturday.

I can’t get started on the noshes. I can’t stop, no matter how focused I am on my WW goals. I tried to stick to grapes…but those cashews and were calling to me (good fat, right?) and the pretzels with cheesy dip. Another weight watcher I know calls these abuse foods (the ones you just can’t control).

So I ate…. noshes, lobster with butter, lobster bisque (but only a half cup), corn on the cob…

There were successes too. One  was a really, really big one. Knowing I had gone way over points already, I didn’t have dessert and there was homemade cake. And three people asked me if I’d like a piece. I said “no thank you” three times and I really wanted to say “oh yes please….I’ll take the whole thing!” I rewarded myself when I got home that night with a 1-point weight watcher’s fudge bar. Along with my 3-point sandwich, these are a lifesaver for me.

And then I tracked my points and figured out what damage I’d done (and I chose to err on the side of caution, assuming I ate more), and it still wasn’t as horrible as I first thought. On Sunday, I got right back on program.

Fingers crossed, staying on plan all week, I’ll still show a loss. And if not, I won’t be disappointed because I know I’m still doing better by my body than I was before. I’ll be 50 in May. I have a big goal to achieve by then.

Now, I just have to get on the exercise schedule!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maggieapril on August 11, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Nice job turning down the cake and jumping right back on program.

    Before I go to a party I eat a small bag of low fat popcorn to keep me away from the finger food. If we’re going to a bar or informal affair I wear comfortable shoes and try not to sit down the whole night – burns more calories and I can walk away from the food. I’ve started drinking vodka soda w/lime – only 2 points – and I alternate w/plain soda and lime and nobody knows the difference.

    I weigh in on Thursdays so I find if I use some of my extra points Fri or Sat, and I’m strict Sun-Wed, it actually improves my loss (assuming I don’t get stupid on the choices).

    Have a great week!

    Reply

  2. At the Friday night event, we actually danced most of the night, so that night went well. And I like Michelob ultra, also 2 points. What also helped me there was that I had to drive home, so alcohol was very limited for me. Switched to water not too far in.

    I weigh in on Thursday also. It’s the best day for this I’m finding because it does give you time to recover from the weekend. I was strict last week and I had a two-pound loss. I’m hoping for more of the same this week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

