Back to Weight Watchers and the 3-point sandwich…YUM!

When I started this blog, it was because I had given up on “dieting” since that wasn’t working for me. I was going to walk and exercise and get fit all on my own. hmmmmm….

That wasn’t working for me either. I did walk for a few weeks. Felt better but no weight loss. I did try eating better, but I wasn’t tracking and well, we know how that goes.

So two weeks ago, I went back to Weight Watchers. 🙂 I tracked everything I ate, stayed in points, and lost 4.8 pounds the first week. My daughter came with me and she lost 4 pounds (which would have been more had she worn shorts, not jeans, like she had the week before….we all know those weight watcher tricks–she’s new!)

I realize now that the accountability and the tracking are key to my being successful at any type of weight loss program. So I’ll keep you posted.

On my journey last week, I discovered a three-point sandwich, which I thought I’d share:

  • 2 slices light bread (I like pepperidge farm light whole wheat or 7 grain) (1point for two slices)
  • Hillshire Farms Ultra-Thin sliced oven roasted turkey or honey ham (4-5 slices equals 1 point)
  • 1 wedge of laughing cow light swiss spreadable chees (1 point)
  • Lettuce and tomato (no points)

You don’t need mayo because the cheese is spreadable, and the sandwich is delish and filling!

I’m encouraged and I’ll let you know how it goes!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by njdionne on July 28, 2008 at 1:54 am

    I joined Weight Watchers about 1 and half weeks ago. I lost 4.4 in the 1st week. I am going to be 50 this year, so I’m thinking that my metabolism may have slowed down. About 10 years ago, I lost 35 lbs. with Weight Watchers and I’m glad to be back. I weigh more now than ever. If I get to the goal that I want to reach, I need to lose over 50 lbs. Yikes! I am staying in my points, but I like variety. Thanks for the sandwich receipe.

    Reply

  2. Hi nj,
    I’ll be 50 this year also! I think it’s what has sent me back to weight watchers. I lost 60 pounds about 12 years ago, but most of it has crept back on so I know where you’re coming from. I need to lose more than 50 pounds as well. I feel really motivated this time.
    And the sandwich is great. I shared it in my meeting last week and it was a hit!

    Reply

  3. Keep it up. That’s good progress. I’m also picking up tasty ideas. 🙂

    I’m not particularly adept at tracking, but learned that you can’t fool Mother Nature and started tracking things more diligently.

    Best wishes on your journey.

    Reply

  4. Good for you! I’m on week 23 with Weight Watchers and have lost 36 pounds so far–it’s not the world’s fastest program but it does work! And I’ll be trying your 3-point sandwich; hadn’t thought about using the Laughing Cow cheese on a sandwich, but that’s a great idea.

    Reply

  5. Posted by maggieapril on July 28, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Good luck with Weight Watchers. I’m on the same journey. I’m down 55 pounds so far but have another 50 to go. I love the flex plan and have been trying really hard to keep myself motivated.

    Please come visit me over at TasteNotWaist.com. On the Favorites page you’ll find my own favorite 3-point sandwich, and on the Recipes page are quite a few WW-friendly dishes.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Carol on July 30, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I joined back in November, and I’ve been having GREAT results! I’m down 46.2 lbs as of last week’s weigh-in.

    I’d be happy to share points-friendly ideas. If you can find the new Multi-Grain Arnold Sandwich Thins in your area, they are GREAT to use for making sandwiches!

    Reply

  7. Hi Carol! That’s amazing! So inspiring. I have found the Arnold Multi-Grain sandwich thins. They are the best, you’re right.
    I look forward to swapping ideas with you. Keep up the good work!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

