Keeping the Momentum Going

While I know I’ve only just begun my “fit” routine, this was a tough week to get anything accomplished. Between rainy mornings (I’ve been walking outside) , a crazy schedule and not sleeping well at night and therefore, not being about to get out of bed in the morning, I only walked 3 times this week.  Now I know this is better than nothing, but it is certainly less than what I’d hoped to accomplish. Plus, the walks just didn’t feel fun.

Plus, while I have been adding more fruit and veggies to my diet, I am still eating too much of the wrong things. I’m a stress eater, and there’s been a bit of stress lately.

It’s amazing to me too. I feel so good when I’m walking regularly and eating right. You’d think that would be enough to keep going. It’s just so much easier to get off track, and I’m not sure why that is. It’s happened to me over and over again.

So my question is “Does anyone out there have any advice for those days when exercising feels like torture?” How do you psyche yourself to get out there? And stay away from junk food??

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by pattyfogle on July 27, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Hi.
    I go through the same thing – sometimes I just don’t want to exercise.
    However, I try to keep the vision of how I eventually want to look and feel in my head. That’s usually enough to get me to the health club.
    Same with junk food – sometimes I’ll eat something I shouldn’t and when I do I try not to feel guilty about it. I think we have to occasionally allow ourselves that freedom- as long as it is not a daily thing.
    I’ve heard that it is good to watch what you eat 6 days a week and then let yourself splurge one day a week.
    As far as exercising – I vary my routine and make sure I’m listening to music or the radio. That helps the time fly.
    Good luck,
    Patty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

